Recycled Leather Butterfly Plant Stakes

I made these little guys when I was in 6th or 7th grade, and thought I’d brag about how talented I was even back then :P

Okay, seriously now: I love how they turned out, they’ve decorated different pots of plants since then and they still look very nice.

So let’s see how they were made :)

S7004477-1 S7004485-1

Butterfly Plant Stakes

left over leather pieces (or other recycled material that’s as hard as leather)
wire
twigs
pencil

Draw different butterfly shapes on the leather and cut them out. Pair them up if you want to.

Cut the wire to the desired length, then spiral them around the pencil, so you’ll end up with a spiraled wire.

Poke the wire through one wing of the leather butterfly/butterflies and insert a small twig in the middle as the butterfly’s body, then poke the wire through the other  wing to secure the twig.

And there you have it: your butterfly plant stake is done.
Go decorate your plants with it :)

Later edit: this post was featured on the Cool2Craft blog as a part of the Recycle Week posts :)

12 Responses to “Recycled Leather Butterfly Plant Stakes”

  1. those are really simple and a beauty! great talent and so many skills ;)

  2. I’m sure my daughter will want to make one of these for the sensitive plant she’s growing right now. I don’t think I have any leather, but I think craft foam will work. :)

    • It will probably work just as well, I wrote leather up there cause that’s what leftovers I used :)

      Send me a photo when they’re done, please :) I’m sure the plant will love them!

  3. Those are lovely Estrella! I used to be a bit crafty-type person but have morphed all that creativity into my writing over the past couple of years. I miss it – need to get back to doing these kinds of things.

    Thanks for the instructions!

  4. Beautiful pics. Very creative ideas. I’m going to copy and paste and try this out sometime this summer. I love all the flower pics to the right of the screen too.

    • Thanks, the flowers on the right of the screen were taken by my fiancé :)

      I’m happy that you liked the idea of these butterflies, let me know when you tried them, I bet they’ll look great among your plants!

  5. Pretty neat crafting here :)

  6. I often recycle leather and never thought of plant stakes. Thanks for the idea :)

Trackbacks

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,065 other followers

