White rain – by Estrella Azul

0381-0384-S7000191-1

 

I miss the rain of white seagulls,
hundreds of seagulls over my eyes.
A white rain to wash over
and cleanse me
from all distress and ugliness,
and whiten me.
We aren’t ourselves
until we’re far away
from everything
we’ve created.
When aren’t ourselves
until we’re far away
from everything
that doesn’t gasp
and doesn’t laugh.
Considerably, extremely, far away,
in the wilderness of the beach,
barefoot on sand and rocks,
with our eyes lost on a sheet of blue sky,
with the wind and the crashing waves
singing in our ears.

If only we were always as white,
and as new, and as true.

 

0390-0393-S7000200-1

14 Responses to “White rain – by Estrella Azul”

  1. I wrote this poem on the beach in Cefalu, Sicily while watching the sea… my new favorite writing place is definitely the beach! ;) *happy sigh*

  2. You have me thinking about these wise statements. :D

  3. Images pop in my head as I read, making me so jealous. Great stuff.

  4. Absolutely beautiful Estrella. Oh, how it makes me long for the beach!

  5. “…We aren’t ourselves
    until we’re far away
    from everything
    we’ve created…”

    Or there, we can learn to be ourselves, or who we ourselves are.

    Beautiful imagery in this.

    Many thanks – and, yes, the beach might just be a wonderful place to write.

    • Yes, sometimes we need to away from everything that’s familiar, what we’ve created, what/who we know so we can find out who we ourselves are.
      So glad you liked my poem, and that you agree about the beach being a wonderful place to write. I fell in love with it! ;)

  6. “If only we were always as white,
    and as new, and as true.”

    stunning! ♥

Trackbacks

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,088 other followers

