Recipe of the month – Making Strawberry Soup with Ann McElfresh


Happy Easter!!!

 

I have a little Easter treat for you guys in the form of a guest post by none other than my favorite food blogger, Ann McElfresh from Cooking Healthy For Me.

I’ve been following her blog and trying out her recipes for quite a while now, and imagine how thrilled I was when she accepted to join me today for a little chat and some healthy (not to mention delicious!) cooking :)

~~~

IMG_3184 EA: Hello Ann!

AMc: Hiya Estrella!  How are you?

EA: I’m doing great, thanks. It’s such a pleasure having you here, thank you for accepting my invitation to guest post!

AMc: Thank YOU for inviting me!  I’m thrilled to be here! 

EA: You know I’m a picky eater and that, aside from Peach Soup, I generally dislike soup. How did you settle for a recipe for your guest post for Life’s a Stage?

AMc: I know you like strawberries and this is such a delightful soup.  Cool, sweet and refreshing!  I went with my instincts – I just love it!

EA: I just had to give the recipe a try as soon as I could find strawberries (they’re definitely not ripe here just yet). Do you prefer them frozen or fresh for soup?

AMc: I would say frozen.  When they’re defrosted, they have a juiciness to them and since they’re being "pulverized" anyway, the softer texture works well.

IMG_3199 EA: I adapted the recipe a bit, since I couldn’t find any (low-enough-for-my-budget priced) frozen strawberries. I bought fresh strawberries (which, to my surprise were much cheaper) and decided to use strawberry yogurt instead of plain yogurt – the end result was a nice aroma.
You know how tasteless fruits and vegetables can be when not in season… What are your suggestions for similar situations?

AMc: First off, I LOVE the idea of using Strawberry yogurt.  I used Greek yogurt in mine. If you can’t find fresh fruits and veggies at the peak of season – most of the time – Frozen works well. They are generally picked at the peak of season and frozen quickly. While they aren’t as tasty, they certainly work well.

EA: Now, I know you’ve made some recipe adapting of your own. So let’s get cooking, shall we?

AMc: Sounds good!

Strawberry Soup (Serves 6)

Adapted from Delicious Disney

 

Ingredients:

2.5 pounds frozen strawberries, thawed in juice
2 cups fat-free half-and-half (2 cups heavy whipping cream)
¼ cup low-fat sour cream (1/4 cup sour cream)
1/3 cup fat-free plain Greek Yogurt (1/3 cup plain yogurt)
3 Tablespoons Splenda (1 Tablespoon sugar)
Strawberries for garnish (optional)

IMG_3164 

Directions:

Mix strawberries, half-and-half, sour cream and yogurt in an electric mixer, immersion blender or blender.

Beat a low speed to a smooth consistency.

Add Splenda, if desired.

Chill; stir well before serving.

Garnish with fresh strawberries, if desired.

IMG_3173 

AMc: Easy, delicious and perfect for spring and summer!

EA: It is all that and beyond; I LOVE this soup, Ann! Can’t wait for strawberry season now – both to make this soup (every single day!) and to freeze some strawberries for when I’m in the mood to have this during winter.

Oh and, like all your photos usually are on your blog along with the recipes, the photo of the soup is gorgeous. Here’s what mine looked like :)

IMG_4742-1

AMc: It looks TERRIFIC!  Your soup looks so cool and creamy!

Many thanks Estrella, for the guest post opportunity – I had a blast!

EA: Thank YOU again for sharing this wonderful recipe with me, and now with my readers. It certainly was a blast to have you over!

Bon appétit, everyone!

72 Comments to “Recipe of the month – Making Strawberry Soup with Ann McElfresh”

  1. Yum! I’m bookmarking this recipe so I can use it when strawberries are in season here. May have to try the frozen berry version first!

  2. Such a great recipe, Ann. This is one I will have to make this spring as the temperatures get higher here in FL!

  3. Hi Estrella! Thank you SO much for having me here! I’m glad you enjoyed the soup….it was GREAT fun guest posting with you! Hugs & Happy Easter!

    • Hey Ann, thank YOU again for being here, this was the most fun recipe of the month I’ve posted so far! Plus, I’ve never cooked “with” someone from overseas before. I may just have to turn it into a regular feature!

      *hugs* and Happy Easter to you and your family too!

  4. It’s so great to be introduced to your blog & thank you Ann for sharing! What a beautiful & delicious soup & I’m planning to attempt this once strawberries are in season near us ;) HAPPY EASTER!

  5. Ann this looks so refreshing you could almost use it as a fresh fruit dip too. I’ve never made a fresh fruit soup even though I’ve seen many recipes for them.

    I like you fat free version something I would do as well. No point in having those calories when it tastes as good without them.

    I’m looking forward to trying this very soon. So pretty!

  6. I would never have dreamed of strawberry soup. Looks terrific. Happy Easter to you both and thanks for the recipe.
    ~jon

  7. Beautiful-looking soup, from both kitchens and cameras :~)

    And such an easy recipe. That’s one of the things I love about Cooking Healthy for Me – how easy Ann makes it.

    Estrella, thanks for hosting Ann. What a great partnership! It was fun reading your conversations.

    • Thank you, Milli, you’re so sweet! It was so much fun hosting Ann today :)
      And I know what you mean, that is what I also love about Ann’s recipes – she makes everything so easy that if I have the ingredients I can’t help but try everything out asap.

    • Ahhh, Milli. you make me blush! You know I love ya, girlfriend! Thanks for your kind words and Estrella made this easy with her terrific questions!

  8. It looks fantastic! We are making strawberry sorbet today!

  9. This looks and sounds yummy – when strawberries are in season, I’ll give this a try. Thanks for sharing and Happy Easter to you!

  10. Oh, Ann! I just about jumped out of my seat!

    My grandmother would make this for us AND IT WAS HEAVEN.

    How wonderful to see it here.

  11. Yum! Strawberries will be in season here in June… can’t wait to try out this recipe using strawberries fresh from the farmer’s market!

  12. Looks amazing, both the recipe here for the strawberry soup and that peach soup Estrella was talking about. Will try them both!

  13. Happy Easter to you both!!! Ann, this soup is gorgeous and the strawberries have been magnificent lately…my mom used to make lots of fruit soups…this makes me think of her :) And Estrella, it’s so lovely to meet you!!!

  14. Hope both of you had a wonderful weekend! I have only had a fruit soup one time, but this one does look a little better than the one I had.! Lovely pictures here. Nice to meet you Estrella!

  15. I hope you had a beautiful Easter weekend Estrella. Thank you, Estrella and Ann, so much for this recipe! Strawberries just happen to be my favorite food but they must be Scott’s strawberries, which gives me only about a 5 week window for fresh around here. The good news is that they’re harvesting early this year, (usually at the end of May – mid June), because it’s been so warm, so I should have some soon to make the soup with – woohoo!
    Thanks again! :)

    • Thanks, Deanna, I had a nice weekend. Hope your was a great one too! I’m so happy (still) to share this recipe on my blog, and can’t wait to hear some feedback. So let me know how it turns out, please, want to know how the kids like it too! :)

    • How COOl that I got to make your favorite food! I’m going to have to google Scotts Strawberries – I bet with such small window, they’re amazing!

  16. Hi Ann and nice to meet you Estrella. The Hungarians have a sour cherry soup that is used as a starter, but I like the idea of changing it up to strawberry! Why the sweetener, I would have thought the berries are sweet enough.

    • Nice to meet you too, Eva! Funny you should mention that, I’m Hungarian actually. The Peach Soup I mentioned liking is my adaptation of that Sour Cherry Soup you’re thinking of (although that has different variations as well, of course).
      The sweetener is more optional really, guess it depends how sweet the strawberries are and how sweet one likes their soup ;)

      • Eva – the cherry soup sounds TERRIFIC! I hope you blog it one day – I’d love to see it! The sweetener added was strictly optional. I like my soup sweeter than most…so it worked well for me.

  17. Soup with strawberries??? Wow, thats so creative and this is new for me. Would love to try this soup when I can get my hands on some berries over here.

  18. this is wonderful, Estrella! thank you for such a sweet Easter present! ♥ ♥ ♥

  19. That soup is just gorgeous–beautiful color and texture, perfect for spring. Ann’s made a winner, here!

  20. Your soup sings spring with its gorgeous color! I love strawberry soup, but the diary part of it doesn’t agree with me. Still, lovely post Estrella and Ann :)

  21. Great recipe, love the idea of strawberry soup. This is something I’ve never tried. It’s so cold here right now so I think I’ll wait till it warms up. Ann you never cease to amaze me.

    Estrella it’s nice to meet you. I’m new here so think I’ll poke around a bit.

  22. I love this soup!! It’s like a smoothie in soup form! Awesome idea, Ann!

  23. What an amazing soup! I had never had strawberry soup before and I think my kids’ eyes will be wide open when they see it on our table. ^_^ What a beautiful soup, Ann! Nice to meet you Estrella! :-)

  24. That looks quite tempting…

  25. Heading over from Ann’s blog — love the collaboration between you both, and what a great idea of posting your own photo of Ann’s delish strawberry soup!

    • Thanks, Kiran, you’re very kind. I also loved this collaboration. And as for the soup, I just had to give it a try (and was quite upset there weren’t any strawberries around when I first received the recipe to go try it out that very minute) ;)

  26. That looks amazing soup :)

  27. I’m tempted to try pouring this over ice cream rather than eat it as a soup, but it looks yummy in any case. Thanks for sharing!

  28. you know I love to try new things, and this sounds like something I would love to try. Wanna come make it for me? :-)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,087 other followers

