Archive for May 28th, 2012

2012, May 28

Dreams. When they come true, or at least explain something to us

My friend Rebecca Emin’s new novel, “When Dreams Come True” launches today!
Appropriately, she asked about other’s vivid dreams and is celebrating with a blog hop and giveaways. Now, I know I don’t generally participate in blog hops, but one about dreams and when they come true? Count me IN!

Usually, by the time I wake up in the morning, I can’t recall a thing I dreamt.
Sometimes, I wake up in the middle of the night and scribble them onto a piece of paper to make sure I won’t forget. Those are usually a bunch of nonsensical sentences when I re-read them in the morning.
But then there are the times when I dream something that sticks with me. For days, for weeks, for months or even for years to come.

My vivid dreams, as vivid as they are, also come in code. I can’t say I’m particularly fond of that, but they do make me think. It’s always hard to dream and realize I’m dreaming. Mostly because after realizing that I am in fact dreaming, I can’t always make myself wake up. Then, I’m tired for the rest of the day and can’t blame it on no sleep.

A few months ago, I had a very vivid dream. I was with a friend of mine, talking, hanging out. I can recall everything about our conversation. Then something happened: my friend kissed me. As real as it seemed, this is where my dream went into “code-mode” so to speak.

In real life I was upset with this friend, for quite a while. He wasn’t answering my phone calls, e-mails, IM’s. He always had excuses for it. I met up with him by chance one night when we were both heading home from work. We went to a coffee shop, had cake and talked for a while. We planned to meet up again sometime during the weekend, with more friends and my boyfriend. He hasn’t answered my calls, nor returned them. Again, I was upset.

And then I had this dream.

Now, I’m not an expert in dream meanings, but I have these gut feelings, intuitions, that are rarely wrong. Even with other people’s dreams about me. And my gut feeling after this particular dream? He might have a crush on me. He never avoided me while I was single.

I’m not as self-centered as to believe this to be a fact. It was, after all, just a dream. Vivid, but a dream nonetheless. It won’t come true. And yet… it still makes me wonder. I would like to know if my intuition was right or wrong.

WDCT cover If you’d like to read more about dreams, and a lovely novel, here are some links to where you can find Rebecca’s new book.

When Dreams Come True

The Blurb:
Charlie is happiest when biking with Max and Toby, or watching films with Allie. But when Charlie reaches year nine (age 13), everything begins to change.

As her friends develop new interests, Charlie’s dreams become more frequent and vivid, and a family crisis tears her away from her friends.

How will Charlie react when old family secrets are revealed? Will her life change completely when some of her dreams start to come true?

Where to Buy
When Dreams Come True is now available to order via any bookshop or online in various places including:
The Book Depository
Amazon.co.uk
Amazon.com
Smashwords
Barnes and Noble
Diesel
Lulu
Kobo
& via Apple iBooks

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,085 other followers

