Handmade Plant Stakes

As often is with crafters (and writers, and chefs, etc.), after reading, Rukmini’s Vintage Enameled Tag DIY tutorial gave me the inspiration to create some plant stakes. I’ve made some years ago, Recycled Leather Butterfly Plant Stakes.

And right now, to be completely honest, I didn’t want to deal with heating stuff as is Rukmini’s tutorial. So I went with the simple, yet highly effective – decoupage technique.

page plant stakes

Handmade Plant Stakes

thin plywood
colorful napkins for background design
water based clear lacquer
paper punched shapes for extra decoration
sharpie for writing on plant stakes when done

Cut plywood to desired sizes. Mine had a white finish already, so I sanded it randomly to give it a vintage, worn look.
If your plywood is of a natural finish, you might want to first coat in a background color of your choice and when it is completely dry, sand for the same effect.

Peel napkin apart, you only need to use the first, top layer that has the design part.

Transfer napkin to plywood with clear lacquer – the parts you sanded will be visible through the layer. Wait to dry.

Cut napkin around the edges, secure with some lacquer.

Decorate with paper punched flowers, butterflies, pumpkins, snowflakes, etc. that fits your design. Add some writing with a sharpie if wanted. Secure them all in place by adding another coat of lacquer (and yet another, if needed).

Place in flower pot and admire ;)  

Happy crafting!

9 Comments to “Handmade Plant Stakes”

  1. great stuff Es. Love this. I want some for my kitchen garden you know…see what this lead to…that’s what I’ll be making this weekend :)

  2. I think i will try and do this. It suppose to be a lovely weekend in my neck of the woods. Its time for me to get mygarden started. Cant have a garden wthout decorating a little with colorful signage. :)

    • That sounds great! Boy, I wish I still had a house with a garden! Hope you’ll let me know how your pant stakes turn out. Just make sure you use some water resistant lacquer if they’re going to be outside.

  3. I have been looking for a Mother’s Day gift for my grandmother, and this idea is perfect! She has multiple gardens, and all of them are gorgeous. With this idea I will be set.

  4. What a great idea. Yours turned out lovely.

  5. These are so cute! You could just use the decorative napkins on the stakes, without the names, to dress up house plants.

Leave a reply. You'll be rewarded with cookies!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,065 other followers

