Recipe of the Month: Delicious Coffee Brownies

My mother used to make this recipe when I was still in high school, and it was the only form of coffee I could stand. Now that I occasionally drink lattes, I thought I’d give this a go at baking it myself and adding a little twist to it. What better time to try something new, than one day before the holidays, right?

The lemon juice and sea salt weren’t in the original recipe, but as I experimented, found that they bring out the flavor of the chocolate and coffee very nicely!

page coffee brownies

Delicious Coffee Brownies

Ingredients

  • 250 g butter
  • 500 g sugar
  • 200 g flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 50 g cocoa
  • 100 ml coffee
  • 100 g chocolate
  • 2 g baking powder
  • 2 g sea salt
  • half a lemon

Melt the butter and sugar, cocoa and previously brewed coffee. Set aside 20 tablespoons of it to which you’ll add the diced chocolate.

Cool down the remaining mix, after which add the egg yolks.

Pour it all onto the beaten egg whites. Add the flour a couple of tablespoonfuls at a time stirring gently. Mix the sea salt and baking powder in half a lemon’s juice, then mix into the batter.

Bake for about 40 minutes at 180-200 C.

When it’s done, spread the glaze on top and let cool.

Optionally, make markings with a knife as to where you’ll cut the slices once it’s cooled down.

Happy baking! ;)

6 Comments to “Recipe of the Month: Delicious Coffee Brownies”

  1. You know I am perfectly fine with coffee in just about anything. I’ve never thought of trying lemon in brownies, what a fun twist!

    • I know, Janel, and I was thinking of you while typing this recipe up for sharing on my blog :) Glad you like the idea of lemon mixed in there, it really is a fun twist and great way to bring out the chocolate and coffee flavours.

  2. That looks and sounds yummy! I’d love to make some, but I’ll have to find out how to write it in our US measurements! :)
    And Fahrenheit oven temperature! :)

    • Thanks, Becky!
      Hope you do give this recipe a try, and here’s my little secret to cooking/baking in different measurements:
      an online units converter http://www.convert-me.com/en/convert/cooking/
      Just fill out what you need the unit of measurement for, and type in what you have in the appropriate space. It’ll automatically (and quite precisely) fill out all spaces of the form. :)
      And, do let me know when you try baking this, I wanna see how the converter thingy worked for you; though I haven’t had issues with it yet.

  3. They look delicious. Love the addition of coffee to the brownie. I’m desperate to lose a few pounds right now and so I fear I won’t be making them.

Leave a reply. You'll be rewarded with cookies!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,088 other followers

