Resolutions for the New Year

2009New Year’s Eve has always been a time for looking back to the past, and more importantly, forward to the upcoming year. It’s a time to reflect on the changes we want (or need) to make and resolve to follow through on those changes.

However, if you truly want to make and keep your New Year Resolution, so it doesn’t die a sudden, certain death midway through January, you have to make the right resolution.

One that’s not impossible, one about which you have enormous desire, passion, and interest, because only in this case you’ll take the right approach, system, and attitude, so it can bring great joy, achievement, and reward when you tick it off the list :)

Most people already strapped on their thinking cap, did some daydreaming, brainstorming, plotting, and planning… just like me. This year, my Sweetheart and I agreed to write resolutions, separately our own, and together the resolutions for US as a couple. Don’t know about my Sweetheart, but for me, it’s gonna be easy, cause I’m quite obsessive-compulsive in the sense that having suck a meticulous and perfectionist personality, I can make a list for anything, and I’m absolutely great with following them :) Here it goes, in a more or less random order:

MY New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Dare to dream about all the wonderful possibilities!
  2. Say “I love you!” more -> not that I don’t mean it each time I say it, or that I don’t say it a lot, but it can never hurt to say it more and even when I’m upset.
  3. Believe in myself, my talents, abilities, my dreams, resolutions, and daily goals -> know my strengths and use them effectively.
  4. Be flexible -> life is full of  ‘Overtaken By Events’ days so I’ll try to be flexible, prepared, and willing to compromise and make course corrections.
  5. Find a good job -> something I enjoy so I can love what I do each and every day.
  6. Be determined and diligent -> stay positive and maintain my optimism as much as I can.
  7. Know my weaknesses -> embrace them, and learn how to overcome them.
  8. Learn something new -> one of the easiest, most motivating New Year’s resolutions to keep (and it’s half way through because of the improving floral artist course I’m taking -> get high mark on the exams, possibly 10). But I learn something new almost every day, and I’m looking forward to it.
  9. Enjoy Life More -> decide to ‘Go For It’ when I have a good opportunity, and remember to have fun and enjoy the journey.
  10. Be willing to work hard and stay committed -> through good times and bad times, in any circumstance.
  11. Be grateful for all I have and all I am -> ‘give back’ with kindness and charity, help others!

And now, our united resolutions list for US. Can’t say that our relationship is perfect, but most of the things listed here should begin with “Continue to”.

OUR New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Say “I love you!”  -> as much or more than we do now. A simple “I love you!” can melt someone’s heart. A simple “I love you!” can be the perfect ending to an argument. Saying “I love you!” is also a perfect way of saying Good Morning and Good Night. You simply can’t say these words enough to each other.
  2. Notice the little things -> cause sometimes it’s the littlest of things that really matter and make us happier.
  3. Listen to each other, be romantic, help each other out, make compliments, argue less, compromise, etc.
  4. Spend time together, cook, play, take walks, watch movies, etc. :)
  5. Buy an apartment and live together!

3 Responses to “Resolutions for the New Year”

  1. Yes, the most important is to have some goals and see that you achieve them, how many you have… it’s everyone’s own list, so as many as you consider :)

    Thanks, and good luck with your getting off coffee :) herbal tea is ok, so don’t worry :)

  2. It’s a good list, and don’t worry, you’ll find a guy too, even if that wasn’t necessarily on the list :) It will happen when you least expect it, so don’t waste time dreaming about it too much :P

Trackbacks

