PS: I love you

Sometimes you have to live life one letter at a time

Sometimes you have to live life one letter at a time

Sincerely I expected little from the “PS: I love you” movie, and I had been disinclined to see it at first, especially because I know how it’s impossible to capture everything that’s important in the more than 500 pages long book when the movie is only about 120 minutes.
But because a friend of mine said it was great I decided to see it anyway (sometime last year, but it has only now occurred to me that it would be nice to write about it… probably because I’m bored out of my mind). :)
I must admit that it is an interesting story, and points to some good since it remains fairly true to the novel… but I like the book much more than I did the movie! Mostly because of all the differences that could’ve been avoided since it’s an adaptation to the novel not the other way around…
I’ve read it in Hungarian… yet I’d love to buy the English version because a lot can be lost in translation as well. Although I didn’t find it in the book shops here (and didn’t look for it too much eighter since I have read it so it’s not urgent), I’ll probably order it online until my birthday, as a special gift to myself :)

The main character “Set in Ireland, Holly Kennedy is beautiful, smart and married to the love of her life – a passionate, funny and impetuous Irishman named Gerry. So when Gerry’s life is taken by an illness, it takes the life out of Holly. The only one who can help her is the person who is no longer there. Nobody knows Holly better than Gerry, so it’s a good thing he planned ahead. Before he died, Gerry wrote Holly a series of 10 letters that will guide her, not only through her grief but in rediscovering herself. The messages are Gerry’s way of informing Holly life goes on. The messages include various tasks and treats Gerry has left for Holly. This is his way of letting her know he will always be there for her. Each letter sends her on a new adventure and each signs off in the same way: “P.S. I Love You.” Holly’s mother and best friends, Sharon and Denise, begin to worry that Gerry’s letters are keeping Holly tied to the past, but, in fact, each letter is pushing her further into a new future. With Gerry’s words as her guide, Holly embarks on a journey of rediscovery in a story about marriage, friendship and how a love so strong can turn the finality of death into new beginning for life.” (the Wikipedia plot summary is great so I used that)
I loved the novel because I believe it’s a story that transcends the sentimental and goes much further as Holly’s history can be transferred to any kind of separation or loss. There is no way to explain when someone you love is not with you physically, you know that they won’t be next to you ever again, yet you still love them unconditionally. It’s also strange how it’s a part of your life and you don’t want anything to change that… and it won’t, but you have to let go sometime…

“PS: I love you” is a novel with a good background, that makes you think as it’s full of emotions and while reading it, like with any good book, you go to another world, look at life from another perspective. There are some notes of humor and yet again it’s about the mourn, as well as the struggle to find happiness.
And isn’t that what we all want?
Just to be happy… possibly with what we’ve got, before it’s taken away from us…

PS: I love you Sweetheart :*:P

[My-Mood Videos]

6 Comments to “PS: I love you”

  1. Yes, that is a good movie :) even i got tears in my eyes, and i don’t usually do that. it is a very good, romantic, movie, and it’s worth to watch it even if your not interested in these kind’s of movies.

  2. :) I see you’ve deliberately said nothing about the novel… but I think if you would have read it, you would say too that the movie could’ve been so much better!

  3. P.S. I love you is a good movie. Though every book is better than the movie itself, it’s not that bad to catch the movie. Yes, the book is so much better than the movie itself, but movies are only limited to 120-180 minutes. So, nothing much can be done, right?

  4. :) I know Farina, thanks for the comment. I just don’t like how in this particular movie they changed a lot of things… like the appearance of Jeffrey Dean Morgan who doesn’t even exist in the novel, etc. things like this :)
    There are a lot of novels that have a great movie adaptation in comparison to this one :)
    I still liked it, but… if it stuck better to the initial plot line and characters, etc. it could’ve been so much better…

  5. erm, I use Windows Live Writer 2009 edition to write my posts.

  6. Ok, thanks a lot for the tip Farina :*

