Life’s a stage

I’ve just read a great post Judy wrote yesterday, Does Everything Happen for a Reason?. I loved it so much I had to comment and share my view of the question which made me remember: great subject as it is, I didn’t actually write about this before, even though it’s something I believe to be true. So here’s catching up :)

You must have noticed the day-to-day translation of the line from Shakespeare’s ‘As you like it’ as a part of my blog’s title, “Life’s a stage – WebBlog”. No, I didn’t chose it by chance :)

” All the world’s a stage,
And all the men and women merely players:
They have their exits and their entrances;
And one man in his time plays many parts…”

I really like that metaphor, I like to believe that Life really is like a play, and we all go through the stages of it acting them out.
But what I especially like – is that we all act however we chose to.

There are good actors, not so good actors and plain old bad actors. There are maidens (debatable I know, but that’s how it sounds better) at distress, heroes and villains. Or sometimes they even act all these parts at the same time.
Sometimes advices on our acting will be given which we either listen to or not, we see how others acted it out like before, what they did right or wrong, etc. take it all in and then chose our own style and act out our own part on Life’s stage.
So what I’m trying to say is that even though some things may happen for a reason, I believe in the possibility of the impossible too, we are the ones making sense of them building up our own belief system, interpreting them as we like to and then acting out the next stages as WE want to :)

Often we wonder why thing happen, it’ may be reassuring, comforting to think there’s a great plan for all of us we must follow, we might try and make sense of some things which just don’t make sense, but the only well made out plan was for us to come into this world and start making something of/with our lives.

In the end, it’s OUR choices that make us who we are and define the reasons we need or don’t need to keep on acting and successfully, or not, end the play.

PS: of course it’s a bit edited, more insightful since I wrote it as a comment :)

PPS: I updated my Quotes page, feel free to check it out.

[My-Mood Videos]

8 Comments to “Life’s a stage”

  1. yes the quote is really nice, i love it, and i think it is true. a life is a stage, and we actors, have choices, reasons, mistakes etc.
    i really like how you wrote about it, what you think.

  2. Thanks for your comments on my blog, and I’m sorry that you’re getting to much hassle off your boyfriends brother, you don’t deserve hassle like that. I’m keeping an eye on your blog too, you say a lot of things that I can identify with, and thanks for keeping an eye on my blog
    Midge

    • My reason for keeping an eye on your blog is that I can identify with quite a few things also, and you write nicely too :)
      No one deserves to be hassled, not me, not you, not anyone.
      Thanks so much for your supporting comment! We’ll see each other more often :)

  3. You’re right. Everything happens for a reason. I share that view too.

  4. Life is what you make it. The decisions, the actions. People can’t live their life with ‘luck’ People make their own luck. You work hard early on, and you get rewarded later on.

    It’s the characters within one’s ‘play’ that chooses create a happy or not-so-happy ending.

  5. Greetings, I enjoy your blog. This is a nice site and I wanted to post a little note to let you know, nice job! Thanks, L

