Don’t miss the sunset

"An artist took his students on an all-night trip up the hill because the sunsets were so beautiful there.

They were all busy painting the sunset. Just as the colors broke (purples and reds and pinks and oranges and yellows, golds and green), the teacher walked around the students and he noticed that only one student was busy painting the shingles on the barn in the valley under the sunset. There he was, tediously painting the shingles!

The teacher told him to paint the sunset and forget the shingles. “If you don’t forget the shingles, the sunset will be gone and you’ll have missed it” he said.

What’s the point? The point is, don’t miss the positive that’s passing. You can get so locked up on the shingles that you miss the sunset. You can concentrate so much on the negatives that you don’t notice the positives."

S7001602

This post is originally from Michael’s blog – Straight talking.com. Thank you for sharing it with us (I loved it so much!) and for the permission to post it myself.

The photo is one of my sunset photos from the Lake here in Kolozsvár ;)

Later update: You can also find my post about “Don’t miss the Sunset”right here on Pillowchats.com

17 Comments to “Don’t miss the sunset”

  1. Good reminder. Face the sunset (or shingle your house in rainbow colors). ;-) Glad you’re posting again!

  2. really nice post this was :) and the pictures are great too!

  3. Lovely post. Beautiful photo. I like sunrise/sunset on water. It’s breathtaking to witness, and great to capture on film.
    (or digital media these days)

    I just started posting photos on my blog for folks to steal on Saturday. I have a grumpy blue swallow up if you’re interested in something fun for your computer’s background.

    Thanks for stopping in at my place today. Hope to see you again.
    Karen :)

    • I also love sunset on/near water, I have more pics if you’re interested in the Photos in/of Kolozsvár. And I definitely think my digital camera was a great investment for me, I love taking photos!
      I’ll check out your photos and the rest of your blog content too, I liked it so far. So you’ll see me again :)

      Thanks for stopping by Life’s a stage – WebBlog, and I also hope to see you again ;)

  4. Such a nice story, very good take on life :)

  5. To start at the end: amazing pic, great colors! Talk about being in the right place at the right time :P
    And the story is really nice too, wonder where Michael heard it from? … I see lots of inspirational stories on the site I added to the url, check it out :)

    • Thanks, I love that photo so much! it really was a right time, right place kind of moment ;)
      I don’t know where Michael heard the story though, he couldn’t remember :P

  6. Now that’s a story! Love how it reminds us of life’s fragility in such a careful and clever way :)
    PS: I love the photo you chose, it is perfect for the post!

  7. Nice story…and a beautiful pic:X

