Going Green – The No-poo experiment

Okay, experiments on myself ;)

For a while now I’ve become somewhat obsessed with the hole eco/bio/natural products.
I strongly believe that people don’t need around 89% of what you can find in shops, but in order to have clean hair, face, etc. we buy them, most of the time without even thinking about it twice.
So this is the next stage of my Going Green journey: making my own cosmetics products (as far as I’ll be able to go with it of course). I’ve seen many many good recipes on the net using all natural ingredients, so it’s time to try them out.

First on my list was: the No-poo experiment.
No-poo is translated into shampoo-free, or my personal favorite translation -> no more poo on your hair.
Exactly, you’ve read right. No shampoo. How can you wash your hair without any shampoo? Very simple. I’ve tried it and the results are incredible!

Here’s the amazing post I found, it includes research and the recipes for better, eco-friendly and healthy hair care. Give it a try ;)

Going shampoo-free –> the no-poo recipe:

Shampoo

Use one tablespoon of baking soda per one cup (250 ml) of warm or hot water. You can double or triple the recipe if you have very, very long or thick hair (two tablespoons for 500 ml, three tablespoons for 750 ml water). But do not use more baking soda, your hair will become hard, dry or feel brittle if you use too much. You can put this mix in a recycled shampoo bottle, and apply to your hair with warm water.
The mix should not feel gritty, and should be a liquid. If you have very short or thick hair, you may find it easier to make a paste with a tablespoon of baking soda (or less) and sprinkle it over
very wet hair and massage in. Otherwise, spray or pour the mixture onto your hair and work it in. Let it sit about a minute, and then rinse. I personally find it easiest to make a liquidy paste in the palm of my hand with about half a tablespoon, and then sprinkle and massage into dripping wet hair. I have very short hair, so I use less. Experiment and see what works best for you, there are no official rules.

Rinse

For a typical rinse, make up a solution of one to two tablespoons of Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV) per cup of water. Apply to wet hair, massage into scalp and rinse off with cold water. Please note, you don’t always have to apply a rinse with every wash! I personally find I only need to do a rinse every 2-3 washes.

I personally don’t use the following ones, but since they were in the article, I included them here for those who don’t surf livejournal blogs.

Hairspray:

1. Chop 2 lemons, add 2 cups water, and simmer in a pan over low heat until lemons are
quite soft. Cool, then strain through cheesecloth. Pour into a spray bottle, add 1 Tbsp.
vodka, and shake. Dilute with water if too sticky.

The vodka ensures it lasts a long time.

2. Chop one lemon (or an orange for dry hair). Place in a pot with 2 cups water. Boil until half of the initial amount remains. Cool, strain, and place in a spray bottle. Store in the refrigerator. If it is too sticky, add more water. Add one ounce rubbing alcohol as a preservative and then the spray can be stored for up to two weeks unrefrigerated.

Hair Gel (#1 is not vegan, #2 is):

1. 1/2 to 1 teaspoon unflavored gelatin
1 cup warm water
Dissolve gelatin in 1 cup warm water. Keep refrigerated and use as you would a purchased gel.

2. One cup water
2 tablespoons flax seed
1-2 drops of essential oil of your choice.
Combine the water and seeds in a small saucepan, bring them to a boil and then remove from heat. Set aside for a half hour. Strain through a colander. When completely cooled, add the oil and mix through. Transfer to a wide-mouthed jar with a tight lid (mason jars work well!), and use as you would any other gel product.

Hair Mousse (Not vegan):

1/4 cup of plain gelatin
1 cup warm water
Dissolve 1/4 teaspoon plain gelatin in 1 cup boiling water. Let sit at room temperature until slightly set. Rub into dry or wet hair, and blow dry.

I took good care of my hair until now too (as far as I knew to), yet always had to wash it twice a week. But after washing my hair with the new homemade shampoo I noticed how it really feels clean, it’s soft and shiny, no dandruff, it untangles easier and doesn’t get greasy for a hole week! Just like all the commercials on TV during a movie claim your hair will be like if you try X shampoo. I strongly recommend it to everyone!

This homemade no-poo experiment worked out amazingly, so next on my list: exfoliating body scrub.

Later update: You can also find my post about having commercial-like healthy, shiny hair right here on Pillowchats.com

20 Responses to “Going Green – The No-poo experiment”

  1. OMG this shampoo is GREAT :D my hair is all shiny again :)) :*

  2. Just tried it and:
    If you add some essential oil to the rinse, it totally takes over the AVC smell. And you can add which scent you like best, there’s a large variety of essential oils :)

    • I tried it too with orange and vanilla essential oils and besides the no-poo shampoo and rinse being amazing, the new scent I gave it is wonderful, feel like drinking the rinse :P

      • Yes, the possibilities are endless in regards to scents I love it. If you get bored of one, you just switch in a heart beat instead of waiting to use up a 1 liter bottle ;)

  3. love it! used to buy organic shampoo but this is way more effective and so cheap :) thanks!

  4. Interesting blog post. I also tried it and added some tea tree oil, it works so well, never would’ve thought :P

  5. Oh I also tried this and it’s so much better than with plain old shampoo that gave me allergies and burned my scalp! Great alternative and for me especially a life saver!

Trackbacks

