Homemade Exfoliating Body Scrub

Experiments on myself again ;). Like I said in my post about my new homemade, chemical free, environmentally friendly, amazingly effective shampoo and rinse, second on my list was to try making an exfoliating body scrub for myself.

There are millions of recipes on the internet, and after some research I decided to make my own recipe from the ingredients I had at home. It’s an amazing alternative to the over-priced, over-packaged, chemical loaded stuff you can buy from stores.

S7002656-1

Exfoliating Body Scrub

Any kind of empty container with a lid
Sugar or mineral salt (less or as much as fits in the container)
Olive oil
Lavender essential oil
Butter-Vanilla essence (or just simply an essential oil mix of them)
(Water)

All you need to do is mix the sugar/salt with the olive oil until it all looks like you can make a slightly wet ball out of it. Add a few drops of Lavender oil, a few drops of Butter-Vanilla essence and stir them until you can smell the scent evenly. Add a little bit of water if you like the scrub to be more runny, but don’t over add since it will melt the sugar/salt.
Apply it before you usually get soapy and scrub like you normally do with commercial body scrubs. It will leave your skin a bit oily, but it comes right off with the soap. Don’t use it more than 1-2 times a week, less is more!

It looks nice, smells even better (I felt like eating it) :P and it worked like a charm, gently exfoliated my skin leaving it soft like a baby’s skin.

I simply adore being able to home make my own cosmetic beauty products! It gives such a pleasure to know that I pay for them much less than store prices plus I always know when they’re made, all natural, I can make whatever amount I want to for a few times use or longer, AND it’s very easy to switch scents at any time, PLUS the scent possibilities are endless, you can mix together what ever scented essential oil you like best. These are big big plusses for me.

I’m determined to learn more recipes like for soap, body lotion, etc. (can’t wait to try everything) and if I can manage it: everyone’s Christmas present this year will be some cosmetic product I made myself! ;)

Later update: You can also find my post about “Homemade Exfoliating Body Scrub”right here on Pillowchats.com

39 Responses to “Homemade Exfoliating Body Scrub”

  1. You can make us a picture of good health with your articles, great recipes!

  2. Always great recipes here, thank you!

  3. This was the best article, made an exfoliating scrub and it’s amazing!

  4. Thanks so much for this!

  5. Just what I needed, great ideas!

Trackbacks

