Will you be mine? by Estrella Azul

“ He felt nervous.
This has been on his mind for the last 3 weeks, if not more, and he just wanted it to be perfect, or as close to perfect as he could get.
Counting down the days his nervousness grew.

At night he was dreaming of various scenarios it would go by and all of them had some flaw he didn’t think of before and made him more worried.
More possibilities ran across his mind like if it had rained and he wasn’t ready he didn’t have anything romantic planned.
Should he take her to dinner and ask her there?
Have his friend help him and decorate the room for when they get home?
Should he do it somewhere else instead of the lake but still outdoors?
Or visit the high school where they met and do it there?

Finally Wednesday arrived, the day of their anniversary. The beauty of it was that it wasn’t a round number like 1 year, 2 years so they’d celebrate luxuriously.
She couldn’t have figured out his intentions too easily.

They made plans to take a walk by the lake and catch a movie afterwards.
His plans however were a bit different.

While prepping to go he looked at his girlfriend getting ready.

She looked beautiful!
Her long amazing hair arranged very simple reminded him of the first day he saw her, her way of applying make-up and still look sweet and natural, her semi-formal outfit were all perfect for the occasion, but he couldn’t tell her yet.

They left for the lake.
To hide the ring he told her he was bringing two phones and made sure she wouldn’t ask any questions about his pocket by making his speech very short and technical.

By the time they got to the lake he had his eye on his watch just to be sure they have enough time.
He knew he would have his work cut out for him as they went past the peer.

He asked is she wanted to go for a ride with the paddle boat.
The water was deep, she was afraid a bit, but her confidence in him made her accept.
He was now thrilled and more nervous than before.

They got into the paddle boat and paddled away, going along the edge of the lake, then when his girlfriend was comfortable with the ride he aimed the center of the lake.
There, he stopped and they enjoyed the view.
Asking her to take photos, while she turned away, he took the ring out of his pocket and waited for her to turn back.

Those few seconds passed even slower than the hole time he had spent planning the proposal.

When she turned back facing him and saw the ring:
everything made even more sense to him than before, her shock and happiness was glowing on her face, he remained speechless.

After a moment he regained his thinking and while placing the ring on her finger asked her the question they were both waiting for… for so long:

“Will you be mine?”

As she said:

“Yes!”

He realized how truly blessed he was. His happiness couldn’t even been described as they sat there hugging and kissing.

After taking her to dinner and watching a romantic movie, on the way home they stopped again for a few moments at the lake and stared into the dark waves.

He did it: managed to turn that day into one of the most perfect and romantic ones they had.

She couldn’t have imagined a more beautiful and meaningful proposal!  

In the morning after the proposal, he got this letter from his fiancée.

 

“Sweetheart!

I know how good we are together, I know how unbelievably lucky we are to have found each other, how we still love each other as much as we did in the beginning and every time we say "I love you!" we actually mean it, and that we worked out how to be together. I know how fortunate we are to both want the same things, and most importantly – each other. I know we both get crazy sometimes but ultimately we have the best thing going and I want to say: ‘I want to keep this’.

I believe that you and I will do all the things we want to do together. I believe that in a while from now we’ll have our own remodeled house, our own children (in time) and our own individual lives in many ways too. I believe that we will be our own family.
I don’t believe in big weddings, or rather, I don’t think that they’re an accurate reflection of what it’s all about. What I want is the promise, the rings on our fingers and the future. I’m delighted because this is the nicest feeling in the world: to love you so much that I want to do something apparently quite random, just because I can’t help thinking that surely there must be some big way to express the way I feel about you, and about us, and our intentions. Getting engaged and married is about choosing to be tied together just in order to be together even homeless, childless or otherwise.

I believe that I can promise to love you until the day I die. And I believe that, if we can work out together what it means to us, making a promise and a commitment to one another can only strengthen the incredible bond we already have.

So… since I believe all this can and will happen, all I have to say is: Yes, Sweetheart! :*:P

I love you, always had and always will!” :*:P

He felt good, happy and more in love with her as he would’ve imagined 3 years, 9 moths and 1 day ago.”

 

Based on a true story.

21 Responses to “Will you be mine? by Estrella Azul”

  1. Hmmm…Very nice story;), I am so happy for you!!:D

    congratulations…kisses:*:*:*

  2. Awww! How sweet! And how wonderful that you captured it all in words – visually and emotionally. Yay you!

    • Oh Judy, I’m glad you’ve liked it!
      Well pointed out, I love the fact that now I have this story captured in words for ever and ever.
      And even more amazing is that this would anyway be a moment I’ll remember forever and this way it’s so much more meaningful!

  3. Aww. Your engaged? And I really like the story. :D:D.

  4. Congratulation! I know you two will keep that promise and you will have a wonderful life full of wonders and happiness together! Take care and love each other very much! Hugs :)

  5. @ All

    Thank you for taking the time to read and comment, I’m so glad to have you all here!

Trackbacks

