Homemade Lip Balm

My favorite experiment so far!

As you all know I’ve been experimenting with different homemade beauty products like no-poo, exfoliating body scrub, facial masks and scrub.
This time I wanted to try something slightly more challenging so I chose lip balm.

I have to admit a very bad habit of mine is biting my lips while asleep (so I have no idea how to stop).
I always had to use lip balm (especially during winter) and out of the hundreds of choices only one lip balm worked until now. It was from Oriflame, the Spa Lip Balm. I’m very picky I admit, but all the other lip balms I tried were too dry for my lips, I felt absolutely no moisture.

After I started Going Green with beauty products too, I thought: “Why not try making my own lip balm too?”
So I Google searched “homemade lip balm recipes” and to my surprise I found a lot of interesting and especially very easy recipes.

I looked at many recipes before I found a few where all the ingredients were available to me and I went supply shopping.
At first I didn’t even think about how cheap it’s going to be.
I had Olive oil and honey at home so those were off the list (I’m sure most people have them at all times also), I needed bees wax, some essential oils and Vitamin E capsules.
All these ingredients I didn’t already have cost around $ 5. The most fun part is that I can’t even figure out exactly how much lip balm I can make of them since I only need a very small amount of each.

But that’s enough blabber, here’s the recipe for homemade lip balm and see for yourself:

Homemade lip balm

Lip Balm

1 Tbls Bees Wax (chop or grate it, then measure)
2 Tbls Olive oil
2 Vitamin E capsule
1 Tsp Honey
10-12 drops Essential oil(s) (I used 6-6 drops of Eucalyptus and Tea Tree essential oils)
Butter-Vanilla essence (optional)
recycled lip balm/lip stick recipients

Place a glass jar into a pot of water and place on the stove.
When the water is hot, using wood utensils, add the ingredients in the jar and melt them together (in the order I listed them, add each new ingredient after the one before  melted).
With a plastic syringe (without needle) split up the hot lip balm into the recycled lip balm recipients, and leave them sit for 48 hours before use.

These quantities are enough for 3-4 lip balms (depends on your recipient’s sizes, I had filled 4 and a half recipients).

It comes out yellow-greenish from the bees wax, but on your lips it’s colorless. You can add your favorite colors yourself.

Tips:

– Throw away your lip balm if it changes color or smell.
– Split up 12 drops to how many different essential oils you’re using.
– To add the Vitamin E, poke a hole in the capsule with a pin and squeeze out the contents. Discard the capsule.
– Always add Vitamin E, because of its antioxidant activity, it’s vital in protecting skin cells from ultra violet light, pollution, drugs, and other elements that produce cell damaging free radicals.
It also acts as a preservative for your lip balm.
-It is best not to use food coloring in your lip gloss as it contains alcohol which has a drying effect on skin.
-If you have a favorite colored dry lip stick you want to make more moisturizing or just want some color for your lip balm, you can cut a bit off of your lip stick (or just add the hole thing) and melt it with the other ingredients (as a bonus you’ll find your favorite lip stick last for up to 4-5 times more.)

I absolutely love my new lip balm! No more chapped lips, it’s all natural and much more effective than any other lip balm I ever tried.
My lips are more healthy than ever before!

This is definitely the most fun I’ve had experimenting so far!

PS: for the next experiment I’ll take it up another notch as I’ll be making moisturizing foot cream.

Stay tuned ;)

Later update: You can also find my post about “Homemade Lip Balm”right here on Pillowchats.com

25 Responses to “Homemade Lip Balm”

  1. I really like this, think I’ll get busy and make a lip balm for my girlfriend, she’ll surely like it. Thanks for the idea and recipe :)

  2. Just wanna let you know that I tried your recipe last week and I love it’s outcome!
    Thanks so much for sharing, keep posting homemade recipes! :)

  3. Do you have any more recipes like this? Hope you post them soon. I love this one, already made gifts to my friends too.
    Good article, thank you!

    Best regards :)

  4. Neat idea to post this! It really can be an amazing gift, I’ll try it out as soon as I run to buy supplies.

  5. Lip gloss recipe for you to try that uses honey.

  6. @ All
    As soon as I have more recipes I’ll post those too. Also I’ll include the ones you’ve so kindly provided me with too!

    So thank you everyone for reading, commenting and sharing your recipes.

  7. Thanks for sharing this, can’t wait to try it out. I just bought some blueberry essential oil so I’ll add that as fragrance :)

  8. Estrella, you’re amazing. I don’t have any girls but there is a local 4-H club and I bet they’d love to make this. Great idea for holidays. Can you tell me what this means: – Split up 12 drops to how many different essential oils you’re using.

    • Thanks, Tammy!

      The 12 drops measurement means if you’re using 3 different essential oils, divide 12 by 3 – so 4 drops of each essential oil to have an even scent. But that can differ of course, depends what kinds you’re using and if you want them to stand out, etc.

Trackbacks

