Beautiful living – by Estrella Azul

Practically living among hundreds of flowers and bringing joy and smiles to people’s faces – more often without even knowing it for sure.

A simple lady, who dreamed of a job like this ever since she was a little girl and if she had to choose between this and other jobs, she’d certainly choose this one over and over again.

This being: a floral artist.

What can be more beautiful than being surrounded by flowers, by that multitude of color and scents all day long until you flick off the lights and close the shop?
Almost every person who goes in the shop envies her, but not one of them thinks about the hardness of it.

No one realizes that being a floral artist doesn’t mean just sitting on a chair enjoying the beauty around you and selling the flowers.
Making bouquets, arrangements require lots of knowledge, special skills and even more talent.
It’s not as easy at it seems.
Flowers don’t stay beautiful on their own and don’t take care of themselves.

On most days she doesn’t get a break from the moment she arrives to work until she gets home.

Still, she wouldn’t be telling the truth if she told anyone that her job is a burden and that she doesn’t enjoy every minute of it.

It was and is one of the most beautiful ways of making a living.

Based on a true story.

27 Comments to “Beautiful living – by Estrella Azul”

  1. Ah, it’s great to have a job you love. Even those jobs are work though, but that just makes them all the more satisfying in the end. You captured that feeling well.

    Welcome to #fridayflash.
    ~jon

    • Thanks, Jon!
      I’m convinced that everything done (written, etc.) from the heart is something everyone would like exactly because it captures the feelings of the artist at that given moment :)

  2. Lovely work Estrella. I’ve never done floral arrangements for a living, but my family and even coworkers always bring their bouquets to me for arranging. I enjoy it too much to be irritated, but I don’t think I’d have the patience to do it every day.

    One critique point, and this could just be me, but I think the first sentence would pop more if you removed the word “practically”.

    I look forward to reading more of your work.

    • Thank you Deanna!
      I’m glad to find someone who also knows first hand how flower arranging works.
      I don’t know how you did it, but you guessed the exact word I was thinking of editing.
      I haven’t decided yet, but I’m working on it.
      I think if it was my own business I’d remove it without a doubt, but since the shop is only my “second home” I’ll leave it as is for now. :)
      Sure if it ever gets published somewhere else than on my blog (oh, big dreams…) I will remove it. ;)
      I’m happy you took the time to read my flash, to comment and even make a suggestion, thank you so much!

  3. Nice story! Made me want to go out and buy a fresh bouquet for my home. :-) Good job, and welcome to fridayflash!

  4. You’re a floral artist who paints a wide variety of floral artwork AND who writes wonderfully!!!

  5. Wow, so much passion behind being a florist! Lovely short story!

  6. Having to make arrangements for my job occasionally I have learned how complicated arranging flowers can be. Great to see a short that clues folks into the talent it takes to arrange flowers.

