Christmas tree decorations from plaster

Christmas is right around the corner so after a friend of mine gave me this wonderful idea, I decided to try my luck and make plaster thingies :P

A few ideas go a long way, these can very well be cute and thoughtful, yet inexpensive Christmas (and not only!) gifts for your loved ones.

How to make – Plaster castings

measuring cup
rubber bowl
spoon to mix
plaster powder (the one that dries white is best)
water
casting molds (or chocolate/candy/etc. molds)

The most important thing is you should follow the manufacturer’s instructions on how to mix your plaster powder with water (I mixed 2 parts plaster powder with 1 part water). Place the powder to the bowl, add the water and slowly mix.

The mixture you get from that should be a bit thick but runny, liquid enough to flow off of your spoon without any additional help.
I found that the more watery the mixture is, the longer it will take to dry (which doesn’t really matter if you’re using small molds cause they dry very quickly in those), and the pieces will also be lighter in weight once dry.
It’s also easier to work with if the mixture is more watery as it won’t set as fast (and you won’t have to throw away half of it because it’s hardened).

Use the mixture immediately after and spoon it into the candy molds or plastic molds.
If you tap the molds, it will make the air bubbles come to the backside of the pieces and they’ll look more esthetic.

Leave them sit, and after a few minutes feel the back of the castings: when they are firm you can carefully remove them from the mold.
At this point you can also place magnets, thread, etc. to the back for hanging or whatever you want to use them for).

Use a craft knife to get rid of the excess plaster around the edges. Poke a hole from the front to the back so you can later hang them (on the Christmas tree, etc.).

Let the pieces dry completely (I left them on the radiator overnight and by morning they were ready to use/paint).

Use acrylic paint to paint the pieces. Water color paint works well also, but the color is not as intense.
Once painted and dry, use clear acrylic sealer on them to protect them from moisture and to give them a nice glossy look.

Here are the ones I made last week :)

S7003511-1

S7003517-1S7003539-1 

 I will be posting more ideas and examples of plaster castings, so stay tuned for next week.

Later update: You can also find my post about the “Autumn window decorations” right here on Pillowchats.com

10 Responses to “Christmas tree decorations from plaster”

  1. oh my… they are absolutely wonderful…. i saw them live but in pictures they look more adorable :P nice work, and i’ll keep on helping you make them ;)

  2. Awww! They’re adorable. Even unpainted. so cute!
    :0)

  3. Just decided:

    for the next two weeks (maybe longer if I get new inspiration), I’ll be posting more Christmas related, holiday special crafting ideas so check back every two days for new articles :)

    PS: Friday and Saturday will still be my flash fiction posting day.

  4. How cute! This would be a great project for kids. Not mine who are taller than I am, but someone’s. ;-)

    • Yes, well… I’ll just say it’s for the kid inside me (since I made them for myself too) ;)
      I have sold quite a few already, people love them. I’m so happy!

      PS: a friend of mine has small children and made these… it was a disaster.

  5. These were my favorite presents! Thank you!!!

  6. Just checking out your post on and it’s great, these are easy enough to make and they look amazing, I can imagine similar decorations on my tree this year.

  7. Strange this post is totaly unrelated to what I was searching Google for, but it was listed on the first page. I guess your doing something right if Google likes you enough to put you on the first page of a non related search. :)

Trackbacks

