Christmas gift bags

Because most gift wrapping papers are not recyclable (nor reusable after people tear them when opening gifts) this year I thought I’d try a different approach: making and using cloth gift bags.

I considered this idea since they are much easier to re-use (also they won’t cost money when you re-use them next year) and they look great, aside from saving you from all the hassle of complicatedly wrapping the presents in the first place!

My mom and I have picked out two beautiful designs.

As much as I’d love to be able to sew them on my own (you’d think I’d have it in my genes, passed down from my grandmother who sews clothes, etc. for herself/the family/friends every day) I’m just terrible at it, so I cut them to the appropriate sizes and had my grandmother sew the margins together.

Here’s what they look like: very cute and festive while environmentally friendly!

S7003626-1

Can’t wait to open them on Christmas!

PS: you can also buy cloth gift bags in stores, just keep in mind –> with the amount of money you spend on them you can buy the fabric and make or have made at least 4 big bags.

Later update: You can also find my post about the “Autumn window decorations” right here on Pillowchats.com

9 Responses to “Christmas gift bags”

  1. they look AWESOME :D gr8 idea!, and yes, i can’t w8 to open them either!

  2. That’s a great idea! Plus, you don’t have to worry about all the tape and making the folds look just right! I’m starting up a new blog all about eco-friendly alternatives. If you could check it our, and leave a comment if you’d like, that would be great!

  3. In addition to all the green benefits….. it would be a LOT easier to wrap a football….

    :0)

  4. What a great idea! I’m surprised it never occurred to me, but I hate wrapping paper and cloth bags would make me feel all superhero-y in a save-the-world sort of way. Thank you!

    • You’re very welcome (I was actually surprised I didn’t think of it before too) :)
      Let us know in a post when the superhero-y state kicks in!

      I’m so glad people benefit from my ideas!

  5. Hand made presents and wrapping… gives the present a whole new value!

  6. Very good idea you have here, they’re so cute :)

Trackbacks

