The magic of a snowflake – by Estrella Azul

Christmas Eve dawned and a glance out the window showed the city transformed into a regular winter wonderland.

Even though she was always at war with the cold she couldn’t help but get distracted from her preparations by the most perfect snowfall in a very long time.

She loved these days when everything changed, days when she woke up delighted that her grey city had received the gift of this crisp sparkly white blanket.

Today was one of those days.

When she looked outside she forgot that she was just an ordinary person in a small apartment and imagined herself dancing in the snow in a beautiful white gown…. amazed that she could love something so cold so much.

She remembered how she used to look at the sky in the winter when she was young, raising her head and noticing the beautiful dancing snowflakes, thinking it was the most amazing thing she had ever seen.

She considered winter unique, loved its paradox: it’s cold outside, yet in people’s hearts and homes it’s warm.

Only in winter can you see frost swirls on your windows,  icicles hanging from eaves, tree branches weighed down with soft snow cover, the air never smells as pure, you can’t admire the beautiful snow covered landscapes and you wouldn’t listen to Christmas carols during any other season.  

She could find something new, fascinating and miraculous about winter each day. Winter symbolized a season for renewed souls, introspection, drawing conclusions about life.

A snowflake’s simple perfection is much like life; even the simplest life can change history exactly the way one snowflake piled on another can give winter its beauty. 

20 Comments to “The magic of a snowflake – by Estrella Azul”

  1. Your blog keeps getting better and better! Some of your older articles are not as good as newer ones and you have a lot more creativity and originality now, keep it up!
    Lovely piece of fiction by the way I love this new side of Estrella – the writer!

    • Thank you, Brit!
      I know, my blog (along with me) has come a long way since I first started it and being able to share my ideas, crafting, etc. and especially my writing is the best part :)
      I’m constantly trying to see how I can further improve it.

  2. It’s true that winter is cold, but for me it’s the warmest of all because the love in people’s hearts comes to surface more intensified.

  3. So nicely put, lovely writing!

  4. @ All

    Thank you for taking the time to read and comment, I’m so glad to have you all here!

  5. I also love snow and snowflakes!

    I’m writing down your last sentence and pinning it up to my cork board above my desk :)
    “A snowflake’s simple perfection is much like life; even the simplest life can change history exactly the way one snowflake piled on another can give winter its beauty.”

  6. I will recommend not to hold back, you’re a great writer!!!

