Recipe of the month: Orange syrup

The new Recipe of the month comes after quite a while of my initial date of publishing, but at this point I’m just glad it got published this month. So nice to be back to my regular schedule!

This is a simple recipe me and my family love, I make it at least once a month :)

orange1b

page orange syrup

Orange Syrup

1 kg oranges (or other citrus fruits/ or even mixed citrus fruits)
1 kg sugar
1 liter water
1 teaspoon lemon salt

Wash the oranges, leave covered in water for at least 4-5 hours (I leave them over night cause it’s easier).
File the peels cautiously, so you don’t also file the white pith (which is sour) from under it.
Mix this peel with a teaspoon of lemon salt and leave sit.
Boil the water, add the sugar and stir until it’s melted.
Add the peel and lemon salt mix, stir well and leave sit for about 4-5 hours (or overnight).
Filter the syrup, place in bottles (you’ll get about 1,5 liter of syrup from this recipe) and keep in the fridge.
Before drinking, just mix with water in you glass to be as sweet as you like it.

*Leftovers:

You can use the filtered orange peels for flavoring when baking (there’s a large variety of desserts you can add it to), and eat the actual oranges over time.

*You can use this syrup for flavoring the salad dressing for the Baby Spinach salad with Mandarin Oranges and Red Onions 

 

I love that absolutely nothing goes to waste! Enjoy ;)

 

 

PS: 1st photo courtesy of Flickr creative commons

12 Responses to “Recipe of the month: Orange syrup”

  1. i really love this :D it’s so good and refreshing :D

  2. Hey, this blog is great. I’m glad I came by, this recipe is definitely a must-try!!!

  3. Tried with orange/grapefruit/lemon with the majority being orange, it’s amazing!

  4. Thanks for making my batch too :P It’s delicious!!!

  5. This is a great recipe! When my trees are heavy, I’ll be making this. Thanks Estrella!

  6. This is delicious, thanks Estrella for the recipe. I tried it over the weekend and my 3 year old son loved it. He doesn’t drink any fruity drinks, so I’m extremely happy that he’s now drinking something healthy.

Trackbacks

