Decoupage technique

Someone gave this wooden “cup” to me a few years ago and I’m sorry but I’ve never liked it.
I have lived with it in the kitchen for ages, hid it behind plants, didn’t really use it. Didn’t want to use it!

And last week while cleaning up, I “found” it again and thought ‘Okay, now you’re on your way to the dumpster!’
And then an idea formed out of nowhere and here’s how I made this awful looking thing beautiful.
And now it’s on my desk, I’m actually loving and using it!

page decoupage 2

Decoupage technique – on wood

As a base cover the whole surface of the object with dull hobby paint (or glue) in a few layers, the edges too.
Cut the desired pattern (form), as accurately as possible.
Separate the napkin, only the top layer will be needed the pattern part, the rest of the napkin can be disposed of.
After the primer dull paint coat has dried, brush a coat of adhesive varnish on the entire surface.

Then gently place the cut napkin pattern and smooth out any wrinkles. It doesn’t have to perfectly smooth, it gives a more antique look if it’s a bit wrinkly.
Coat the entire surface so the model will be completely covered with adhesive paint.

With decoupage technique you can easily and quickly make wonderful decorative items or renew old boring things, old furniture.
Different pattern napkins can be placed on: porcelain vases, pottery, wooden boxes, trays, splash pages, on candles with candle adhesive, with textile adhesive on table linens, curtains, cushions.

The napkins have different effects on different grounds, and the variations are endless!

Here are links to some wall pictures I made with this technique:

Christmas wall pictures, and wall pictures from my plaster crafting site

15 Trackbacks to “Decoupage technique”

