Unappreciative – by Estrella Azul

I’m unable to move. Voices encircling me discuss my future.
– We could venture.
– No. He clearly doesn’t meet the standards. Look at his surface shade.
– Well then… you’re free to return to Earth, we’ll drop you off after turning the craft around. – one voice informs me.
– Thanks. Darn racist aliens

26 Comments to “Unappreciative – by Estrella Azul”

  1. In this case the fact that they have discriminated works well for the subject. ;)

  2. How fun! Those darn aliens aren’t any wiser than we are.

  3. @ All

    Thank you everyone for taking the time to read my 55 word story, your visits and comments were much appreciated!

  4. So funny, for some reason we assume aliens are ‘better than us’.
    Too much of the sci fi channel, I guess.
    I’ve seriously always thought that ET was a relative of Archie Bunker… you can see the resemblence in their beady little throat wrinkles.
    Thanks for the 55-word smile!
    (Hey, everybody keeps talking about the 55 words, but did anybody actually count them???? Inquiring minds…)

    • I think these few lines definitely make people realize they assume too much (from the rejection because of skin color to the subject wanting to become a test-subject).

      You’re right, ET does resembe Archie Bunker a bit :)

      And hey, don’t make me second guess myself here… it’s 55 words without the title :P (Or at least that’s what my word counter thingy said) :)

  5. Ah, and they always tell us that alien races will be more enlightened than ours :-)

  6. There’s a twist, I would’ve been glad not to become a test subject ;)

