Natural Headache Remedy

Headaches and migraines seem to be going around in this changing Spring(?) weather and I myself have been suffering a lot during the past few weeks due to pressure headaches. The fact that I’m not allowed to take any medicine doesn’t help. Bummer…

This situation got me thinking though and I decided to make a list of what homemade and natural remedies helped me in pain relief, and I’ll share some websites with great information too.

We all respond differently to the different cures and since all these homemade and natural headache remedies are safe and have no side effects (absolutely perfect for someone with peptic ulcer (any form of it) as they won’t disturb your stomach), you can try out more than just one and see what works best for you :)

  • Scalp massage and you can apply a drop of Lavender essential oil to the temples.
  • Take a warm bath – using these bath salts might help to further relax.
  • Chamomile and Mint tea relax muscles and sooth tension (sweeten with honey instead of sugar).
  • Honey mixed in a glassful of lime juice is also one of the most effective homemade headache remedies.
  • Calcium and Magnesium are minerals that help to alleviate muscular tension.
  • Ginkgo Biloba extract improves circulation to the brain, and may be helpful for certain types of headache.
  • Try to have a regular balanced diet and keep your body hydrated. Reduce the intake of caffeine, salt and chocolate.
  • Light exercises like stretching, and you can also practice yoga and meditation regularly.
  • Apply an icepack on the affected areas (neck, upper back, temples of the head and forehead). Apply the icepack for at least 5 to 10 minutes and it will reduce the temperature of the head while preventing severe pain.
  • Get plenty of fresh air, a 5 minute walk can work wonders.
  • Sleep.

A few useful websites I found on this topic:

Home remedies for you

Homemade Medicine

Ezine Articles

Almost forgot: if you know any natural ways and homemade remedies that worked for you and are not listed here, please share your wisdom with us!

Stay healthy everyone ;)

10 Comments to “Natural Headache Remedy”

  1. Thanks for this. Because of the many wonderful trees and flowers that bloom in DC, I do get allergy headaches in the Spring. Will try your suggestions.

    Question though. Is the lime juice watered down, or does one add honey to a glass of pure lime juice?

    • You’re very welcome, I’ll be so so happy if people benefit from this list!

      I saw that lime and honey recipe on one of the websites I listed and it had no specifications, so I added a bit of water too (like one third of the glass, the rest lemon/lime juice and honey until I was able to drink it) :)

  2. Thanks for the remedies! I can take medicine for headaches, but sometimes they don’t work. After having a headache for three days straight, I’ll try anything!

    • Oh, I’m so sorry, totally know how it feels…
      Let me know if any of these worked :) Everyone’s different, but I really hope they’ll help relieve your pain!

  3. Which remedy works best depends on what kind of headache you got, of course.

    Tense neck muscles may be cured by massaging them with a drop of essential carnation oil. (Not too much! And the smell will make you sleepy!)

    Easiest try: Drink water. Lots of it. In many cases, the headache gets better within a few minutes.

    For some people, a sugar dose will help – a piece of chocolate, some cocoa or a cup of tea/coffee with sugar.

    Do you need glasses? I know, it sounds trivial, but it makes a difference.

    I guess you got the rest of what I know covered. (^v°)

    • Thank you so much for your input!
      I know headaches have many causes and are all different, that’s why I listed what helped me and also added the links which provide a much larger variation of remedies and link to other helpful websites :)
      And you’re right “Do you need glasses?” is a great question, I also heard that it’s possible to get headaches from needing glasses.

  4. Good advice, some worked for me too :)

  5. Nice tips!
    You’ll need to print this out for me :)

