One stupendous pile of pens

A pen exists to serve a higher purpose.

Each pen knows its destiny and writes waiting for its fulfillment.
As we read their creations we notice that not all the pens are shaped the same, their heads are all different: Reed Pen, Quill Pen, Dip Pen, Fountain Pen… each has its own personality and each pen is special in its own way.

I believe that all pens have their well-established path on this life’s stage; as even with a single written line they trace and create different worlds.

All these pen’s paragraphs, sentences, phrases, words, for me, equal small miracles.

Witnessing the passage of ideas from first pen stroke to end result; is an incredible journey.
Sometimes, somewhere in this voyage, a wonder slides in.
Each week, out of hundreds of penned imaginings, one creation is destined to arrive into certain hands, and when the two meet, time stands still and the hearts, of both reader and written lines, skip a beat.

My heart skips a beat several times a week. Actively engaging with the stories I read, I am pulled under by intense ideas, challenging or reinforcing my old ways of thinking, making the wonder of this journey ever so precious when I resurface.

In addition to these wonderful reading experiences, and fortifying my lifelong passion for everything that creative writing is, the best and most significant “things” I have received from participating in #fridayflash are the countless amazing new pen friends I now have, who I wouldn’t have met, or at least not in such high numbers, if it wasn’t for this stupendous pile of pens #fridayflash contains!

 

* This is my entry for the #fridayflash Writer’s Contest.
A creative nonfiction piece on what #fridayflash means to me.

(I posted it as a sticky post, so you’ll see it here at the very top of my blog posts until the winners are announced in June.)

** All votes in the poll are much appreciated, thanks a million, I have won second place in the writer’s contest!

45 Responses to “One stupendous pile of pens”

  1. Estrella, this is absolutely beautiful! I’ve written no more than my first thoughts for this contest & I’d better get with the program before I miss the deadline, but I’m not so sure anyone’s can beat this masterpiece of yours. Good luck to you!

    • Thanks Deanna, you’re so sweet!

      I can’t wait to read your thoughts on #fridayflash as well, I love reading different opinions and stories about how #fridayflash has touched so many lives!

  2. That was so well-written and eloquently said! I feel the same way about #FridayFlash.

    Good luck in the contest!

  3. This is so beautifully written. I wish I would have read it sooner. I am sorry I am late, friend.

    ~2

  4. This is great! Like Karen said, it flows like water and reads like poetry. Fridayflash has brought so many of us together!

  5. Wonderful perspective–enjoyed reading your words! Thank you for posting!

  6. This is a great way to look at the #FridayFlash community of writers. Well done!

    As a side note, I recently acquired a fountain pen you might find interesting: http://www.tonynoland.com/2010/06/parker-51.html

    Cheers!

  7. Pens! I love them, especially fountain pens. :)

    What a lovely essay. You’re so right with this sentence: “Witnessing the passage of ideas from first pen stroke to end result; is an incredible journey.”

    And the journey is so much better when people find a community where there is support as well as friendship.

    Yes, the #fridayflash community is such a place.

    Good luck to you, Estrella!

  8. wonderful… and it helps me understand my penchant for pens, pencils, and everything and how sometimes i need to use a pen, but other times i need to use a pencil… or a certain pen will be the only pen that will work to get an idea out… beautifully written!!! :D

Trackbacks

