Trying to forget… – by Estrella Azul

Flashbacks of darkness,
harsh words, a confrontation,
a worried stranger
holding your hand
on a cold hospital bed…

And then you’re back;
gazing into the mirror.

From the edge of sight
becoming aware of them,
you sorrowfully look down.
Recognize the five scars? 
Marks from two years before?

Even if you are willing…
they won’t ever allow you – to forget.

16 Responses to “Trying to forget… – by Estrella Azul”

  1. So much truth in this. The scars are always there, as a blueprint to the pain.

    A worthy poem!

  2. This one made me shiver. You can never truly forget.

  3. yes thats true… some fade away some never go away

  4. Such sorrow here, and unfortunate beauty.

  5. Hi Estrella. My apologies for not visiting your blog more often. I’m adding you to my Blog Roll and that should help me to remember! Have a wonderful weekend!

  6. Visible reminders that don’t allow us to forget…
    Powerful poem, Estrella!

  7. On the one hand, your poem is full of sorrow, though on the other hand it reminds me of the aftermath of a family member’s recent successful surgery – the only echo of their injury now being the scars (still healing) around their knee. Thanks so much for posting this – it gave me an opportunity to stop and think for which I thank you.

  8. And you shouldn’t [forget]… what doesn’t kill us, makes us stronger

    ~2

  9. Lovely and powerful. The reminders of surviving, and how strong a person can be.

    Wonderful poem.

Trackbacks

