Recipe of the month: Eggplant Salad

Eggplant Salad is one of my favorites dishes.

I’ll be honest with you and admit: I’m a very picky eater! Sure tastes can differ, but that’s how you should know that what I recommend, really is the best :)

page eggplant making

page eggplant salad

S7005483

Eggplant Salad (Vinetta)

2 or 3 medium sized eggplants
red or green onions (this is how I like it, you can use which ever you like best or skip this part entirely)
mayonnaise (I advise you not to buy it, homemade is best: 1 egg yolk, 1 teaspoon mustard, sunflower or olive oil)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vinegar or lemon juice

Grill eggplants until their crust turns into a charred crust, then clean the crust off.
Finely mash the cooked eggplant with a blunt, thick wooden knife or wooden platter.
(The resulted mash can be frozen – we always buy a huge amount of eggplants in the fall, prepare them and make eggplant salad or Zakuszka (I’ll share this recipe next month) of them during winter.)

Prepare the mayonnaise by adding small amounts of oil to the egg yolk and mustard while mixing vigorously to disperse the oil.
You can also make this in a food processor, just be sure to set it on low speed so the end result won’t separate.
The mayonnaise is done when the emulsion is more resistant to mixing and has a considerably light color compared to how it started out.

Chop (or file) the onions.

Mix together the mashed eggplants with all the other ingredients and your eggplant salad is done.

Spread it on bread and serve as is or with tomatoes, etc. whatever you like.

Bon appétit! ;)

13 Responses to “Recipe of the month: Eggplant Salad”

  1. This is really different from any salad I’ve ever had, but it sounds really good, especially with the homemade mayonnaise.

    • Well its name is salad, cause… I don’t know it just is, but it’s more a spread.
      Let me know when you’ve tried it, I’m sooo curious to see if you like it! I know this isn’t very popular in the US, so I’m especially curious this time!

  2. Mmm! I will try it! Thank you!

  3. its one of my favorite food OF ALL TIME! :D i never knew the origin of the recipe, i tough it was known all around the world… :)

  4. Going to try this one. I’e been looking for a good eggplant recipe. Thanks!

  5. I don’t eat eggs, but I think I can make a vegan version of this with ‘veganaise’… Sounds yummy! Thanks for the idea!

    • You’re welcome!

      And you can totally try it with veganaise, let me know how it turns out with that adapted.
      Or you can skip that part entirely, it’s all about tastes!

      I personally like it almost anything more with mayo cause that way it isn’t as oily.

  6. Ok, I will definitely give this one a try.

Trackbacks

