Giraffes – one million of them ;)

Ola Helland from Norway is attempting to collect one million giraffes through the internet by 2011.

Such a fun website! I’m amazed at how many giraffes are already up and how much imagination people have :)

It’s extremely easy to contribute, the rules are: hand make a giraffe and send in the photo.

But even if you don’t feel like getting dirty and creating your own, go take a look at all the giraffes, you won’t be disappointed!

After a few friends from the US told me about this website (the news about it really does travel worldwide!), I knew I had to create a giraffe.
At least one.
And maybe even more by the end of 2010… so stay tuned.

Gave it a bit of thought and yesterday I sent in a giraffe I made (inspired by a leopard made along the same lines) and it’s up already, here’s my giraffe in a million ;)

S7005976-1 S7005979-1

This seemed like a perfect post for this week’s Arts, Crafts (& Recycling) category, clothespins can turn into the most interesting paperclips (I’ll be posting more ideas soon).

Clothespin Giraffe

wooden clothespin
paint
small pieces of fabric (or cardstock, crafting foam)
craft glue
optionally – a small (strong) magnet

Paint your clothespin yellow, add brown giraffe-like spots, and wait for it to dry. Then glue ears and tongue to it, draw on eyes and you’re done. If you want to, you can glue a small (strong) magnet to the back and your giraffe will turn into a cute clothespin fridge magnet.

You can also make other animals with this method, ex. zebra, leopard, tiger, skunk, Dalmatian, etc.

So, will you join in the fun and make a giraffe? :)

8 Responses to “Giraffes – one million of them ;)”

  1. I loved the giraffe site! So many creative interpretations. I love that yours is so useful!!

    • I loved it too, had so many great ideas.
      Great idea to get your kids to draw, craft, etc. :)

      And I’m glad you liked my giraffe, I love how he turned out too :)

  2. it’s amazing what a beautiful thing you can make out of a simple thing like a clothespin … i just LOVE it :D

  3. What a cool idea for a giraffe! He’s cute and practical.

  4. AWWW! I LOVE your giraffe! I keep forgetting to do one, but you’ve inspired me. It’s a 3-day weekend. I will accomplish this if nothing else! ;-)

Trackbacks

