Homemade Sunburn Remedy

Summer is here! Yay! (And I hope the weather is summer-like where you are, cause here it’s more autumn-like than anything…)

Anyway, thought this might come in handy for everyone who loves sunbathing and/or occasionally over exposes.

Sunburn remedy blend

Use a vegetable oil base consisting of marigold oil (soak oil), Rosa Mosqueta and grape seed, plus a mix of essential oils of:

Lavender
Mint
Tea Tree
Rosewood
Chamomile

Apply two times daily in the affected areas.

 

aloe_sunburnOther tips for sunburns:

A good sunburn prevention is to massage your whole body with coconut oil before going out in the sun.

Milk is also a good food remedy for sun burns. Just apply on the affected area using a cloth.

Ice on the burned area is also beneficial.

Using cold tea bags will remove tanning from sunburns.

Raw sliced cucumber or potato applied to the affected area will reduce redness and inflammation caused by sunburn.

Aloe Vera is a natural and soothing treatment option for sunburn and tan. – Just pluck a few leaves of the plant, mash them and mix with lemon juice. Apply all over the affected areas. It cleanses, clears and nourishes the skin.

Honey and lime juice is also used in treating sunburn.</strong> Mix 2 spoons of honey with lemon juice and apply over the sunburned or tanned skin areas. Helps to lighten and soothe the skin.

Stay in the shade ;)

6 Responses to “Homemade Sunburn Remedy”

  1. The best sunburn and photodermatitis recipe I know consists of

    * 1 Cup of olive oil
    * 3-5 tablespoons of lemon juice
    * 3 tablespoons of honey

    Put in bottle, shake, apply to affected skin.

    However, to prevent these things – especially photodermatitis, which has been a real curse for me – it really helps to drink 0.5 liters of buttermilk each day as soon as the snow has gone (eating yoghurt and drinking kefir helps, too, but I found buttermilk works best).

    And of course, stay in the shadow – white is beautiful.

  2. I have fair skin, so I try to keep up with my sunscreen. However, I usually end up with at least one painful burn episode over the summer. Thanks for sharing!

    • Totally understand what you mean!
      Unfortunately I also have fair skin and since I sometimes forget sunscreen… I don’t tan, I flat out burn :(

      You’re welcome for the recipe and tips, hope they help you too :)

  3. My hubby had a really bad sunburn this weekend, but your advices helped a lot. Thank you for sharing this!

Trackbacks

