True beauty

I’ve never met anyone who wasn’t preoccupied by their look.
And in the past, I was surprised by the fact that even celebrities I admired had the same worries as most women: not to show a tummy, not to have photos taken from certain angles if they didn’t favor them, etc.

But at the same time, I’ve met a lot of women who radiate with beauty and happiness, even if they don’t necessarily meet the so-called beauty standards.

Evidently, we all have the same complexes.
Some are justified concerns, some are imagined.

We won’t get rid of them by over-dramatizing, or mentioning them every 5 seconds in a conversation, expecting people to convince us otherwise.
But we can (and should) look inside ourselves, discover and acknowledge what makes us special, those small (but more often not small at all) qualities which should make us wake up each morning with a huge smile on our face.

After all (like I’ve said it before), true beauty lies in attitude, health, naturalness, subtlety and intelligence.

13 Responses to “True beauty”

  1. I’m not preoccupied with my look unless you get me near a mirror, at which point I become fascinated with my own hideousness. But that’s the plight of all ogres.

    So, you should meet me! I can teach you how to dress in ten seconds and not care the rest of the day.

    • Your comment made me laugh aloud, John! :)
      I have a few things I’d love to change, my surgery scars especially, but luckily I’m not too much into how I look. On most days I don’t even wear make-up, so your last sentence cracked me up!

      This post came from a conversation I overheard today while standing in line at the finance department. Two friends were talking about something and one of them kept interrupting the other by stating how fat she is and nothing fits her…
      Why she had to discuss that in public, no idea, but it got me thinking, and I had to write a few thoughts about complexes :)

  2. Usually I don’t worry too much about how I look – minimal make-up and fuss-free hairstyle. That said, I spent the morning getting my eyebrows waxed and eye lashes dyed. Sometimes a little maintenance is needed. :)

  3. some interesting thoughts!
    accepting that everyone is beautifully different seems to be a hard task with what media throws our way.
    xx

  4. great thoughts! i agree with you, on your last line especially!

  5. Hi Estrella! Very thoughtful & thought provoking post!
    I guess I must be beautiful, then, since you said you believe “true beauty lies in attitude, health, naturalness, subtlety and intelligence.” Hey, that’s me! :D

  6. YOU are a truly beautiful woman, inside and out! I love your line “After all (like I’ve said it before), true beauty lies in attitude, health, naturalness, subtlety and intelligence.” I personally think that attitude and kindness can make anyone beautiful. *Giant Hugs*

    • Thanks, Dani *blush* I love that so many of my friends are beautiful, like you are!
      And you think right, I totally agree with attitude and kindness making people beautiful :)

Trackbacks

