Classy handmade bookmarks

I always run out of bookmarks… Always.

I love them, have a lot of different ones, but especially given that I keep most of my books at my mom’s and take what I’m currently reading to my fiancé’s, the bookmarks tend to get forgotten in the books I don’t have with me.

So, after a bit of research on the internet, while expanding my knowledge on decoupaging, I ran across the loveliest way of making my own classy bookmarks, plus I can make all sort of decorative paper from patterned paper napkins with the following paper napkin transfer method.

This one’s for all you avid readers out there ;)

S7006340-1  IMG_5210-1

Classy handmade bookmarks

scribble pad (or a few separate pages)
plastic wrap
patterned paper napkins
iron
extra decoration to your liking: ribbons, tassels, buttons, etc.

Use a scribble pad to place on it a cardboard (cardstock, etc.) cut to the size you want your bookmark to be. On that place a piece of leftover plastic wrap you use in the kitchen, make sure it overlaps the whole surface of the cardboard. 

Cut a piece of napkin that’s slightly bigger than the cardboard, peel it apart like you do for regular decoupaging, keeping only the patterned layer (the rest can be repurposed while cleaning). Lay it on the plastic wrap covered cardboard, turn a few pages of paper over them (depends on how thick the paper is, I used two pages), set your iron to medium (I used an old iron we don’t iron with anymore; be careful not to get plastic on the iron if it’s your everyday iron) and go over the pages where the cardboard is for about 20-30 seconds, applying a bit of pressure. If need be you can go over it again later.

Turn the pages, if the plastic wrap is stuck to them don’t worry it peels right off, get your cardboard off of it, trim around the edges to get rid of the excess napkin and plastic wrap, and you’re done!

You can now start decorating your new bookmark, cardstock, etc.

I cut the edges with special pattern scissors and decorated my new bookmarks with ribbons, old interesting buttons, handmade tassels, roses, etc. Let your imagination go wild!

Happy crafting and happy reading! ;)

10 Responses to “Classy handmade bookmarks”

  1. Your bookmarks are gorgeous! Somehow I don’t think mine would look so good.

    • Thanks :)
      And oh, I’m sure yours would look great too!
      Give it a try, there’s nothing to it, just pile up stuff on top of each other, iron and decorate :P

  2. Lovely idea! Beautiful details. You are a multi-talented woman of the 21st century! Love it! *hugs*

  3. These are lovely and you’re instructions are well done. You must be a teacher. I just finished ATCs, but I found a bunch of bookmarks while looking through my junk pile that I’d made over a year ago and decided to post one of those instead. I agree about the necessity of them. I’m an avid reader and have several in books by my bed. I was wondering if the blue starfish below your banner is a bookmark as well. Thanks for the fun post, even if I am six months late. Patsye

    • Hello Patsye! Nice to meet you :)
      It’s great to meet other avid readers and see how much they love bookmarks, makes me feel like I have such a huge family!

      No, the blue starfish is actually my Christmas present from my mom, so I’ve just changed that image a week ago. It’s a medallion for my necklace as I adore stars, the ocean and the color blue (hence my pen-name “Estrella Azul” which means blue star in Spanish)

      I’m so glad that you liked the bookmarks I’ve made and my instructions as well, I’m far from being a teacher of crafts, just a crafter (I do tutor English though, so maybe I developed the eye for details in instructions from there). I’m a floral artist really, have my small plaster casting business and am an emerging writer as I’m sure you noticed on my blog.

      Hope to see you again soon, and you weren’t late by any means! :)

  4. Those look so great, think these will be some good stocking fillers!

Trackbacks

