Handmade Notebook Covers

Those would be the old school kind of notebooks with paper and stuff, not the modern one I’m currently using to type this post ;)

While searching for something I found (not what I was originally searching for, but) my old journals, and thought to myself: how on earth did I forget about these covers I’ve made? Probably cause I stopped writing a diary back in 2000 or because they were (obviously) hidden well (no, Sweetheart, I won’t tell you where, hence hidden :P).

But as I came across them I knew I had to write a short tutorial to share with you guys, it’s an amazing way to recycle an old pair of jeans, or just clear out the clutter from leftover sewing projects.

Hope you find them as pretty and as easy to make as I do ;)

S7006573-1

Handmade Notebook Covers

notebook
piece of denim (from an old pair of pants, jacket, etc.), or basically any kind of denser fabric you have laying around
scissors, glue, needle, thread
decoration of your choice: buttons, paper art, stickers, ribbons, seashells, dried flowers, napkin (using the decoupage technique for fabric), etc.

There are more elaborate methods too if you’re into sewing, but here’s the simplest possible way:

Measure your notebook all the way around from front to back while closed then cut your fabric to the measured size and leave at least 3-4 cm-es extra sideways.

Fold onto the material until it’s the right size then sew the seam at the top and bottom so you’ll be forming a pocket for the covers to be held in, and you’re basically done.

Now sew on a pocket or two, readily made that you took off a jacket/pants or make your own, add your decorations and place your new covers on your now prettily personalized notebook.

Have fun! ;)

(and please share photos when yours is done!)

15 Comments to “Handmade Notebook Covers”

  1. Estrella, I LOVE those covers! I’ve always enjoyed creating new things with old stuff, though alas, I cannot sew. I can’t even sew a button on a shirt, (I’m ashamed to say), but surely I could hot glue the fabric onto the journal. I’ll have to give this a try. Thanks so much for the inspiration, and instructions!

    • Deanna, let me assure you: I can’t sew either! But this had only 4 minor places requiring sewing, so it was pretty okay.
      Your approach of hot gluing is okay too, though that way you won’t be able to place the cover on another notebook when you’ve filled it in.

    • Or a good idea is to maybe glue fabric to a cookbook or recipe notebook :) Things you don’t throw away when filled in.

      • That just proves how much “greener” you are than I am Estrella. I wouldn’t even think of removing the cover to use on another book. :)

        • Hey, I’ve been known to not think twice before throwing certain things out too, but I am more careful now about re-purposing if it’s possible.
          Plus when I worked hard to make something beautiful I try to keep it and re-use it for a long period :)

  2. I love the pockets. I found some mini ink pens that would be great to stick into them. :)

    • I also love pockets, and I really like how these old jeans pockets look on the covers; always good for bookmarks, mini pens (awww, those are so cute!), etc. :)

  3. FABulous!!! I love, love, LOVE these! You’re so creative and talented, sweetheart. *BIG HUGS* <3

  4. Very interesting article, thanks. Keep up the good work.

  5. they are just awesome :| can’t wait to make one for my photo album!

  6. OH, to be “sew” talented! :o
    Sorry, couldn’t help myself!
    When I was young, we “had” to cover our books for school, because they would be passed to the next year’s class, etc. and the nuns wanted them to stay looking halfway decent! I loved using old wallpaper samples and just doing the old cut and fold style! Makes me want to run out and find some wallpaper rejects!! :)

  7. I love these! I don’t bother trying to use paper notebooks anymore though. I write so much that I end up just filling them up and they stack to the ceiling! I do love the crafty look though!

  8. So nice idea!! I included it in my blog http://creationsbyzoe.blogspot.gr/
    and it will appear on July 28, helping inspire Greek crafters for those little pretty things!!! Thanks a lot!!

