My trip to Hungary – Week 1

It’s time, it’s time! Here they are, fresh out of my editing program: vacation photos of my first week in Hungary, come and get them! ;)

(Worked a bit on recovering my thoughts from here after Windows Live Writer decided to get “cute” with me… Here they are. Sort of…)

During my trip I’ve realized the most important thing: the city I live in hurts me, makes me bad, urges me to let time close my eyes and ears. But as I left for two weeks, I looked inside myself, where the heart becomes clear, and I found joy, peace and endless love again, golden sun and greenery and cityscapes, and everything that’s good in myself and the world.
It was truly the most beautiful holiday I’ve had on my own, I needed this relaxation to be able to come back well rested, even if not physically since I’ve been walking for two weeks, but psychologically rested, recharged, and fresh to tackle all that life will throw at me next :)

Week one, visiting many places, August 13-20

 

page hejobaba  Hejőbába

 

page koncertek Republic concert (my favorite Hungarian band),
Eperjesi Katalin and “István a király” rock opera

 

page tiszaujvaros Tiszaújváros

 

page bukk beech forest Ómassa – Varga mountain, beech forest

 

page outdoor machine exhibition iron forging shop Újmassa – Outdoor machine exhibition and the old Fazola blast furnace

 

page lillafured Lillafüred – Hámori Lake and its waterfalls

 

page anna cave limestone Lillafüred – Anna Cave, natural limestone cave dating back to 1926

 

page miskolc Miskolc

 

page fortress of diosgyorMiskolc – Diósgyőri fortress

 

page szerencs Szerencs

 

page Rakoczi castle szerencsSzerencs – Rákoczi castle

 

page mezocsat sajoszoged borsodi beer factory bocsMezőcsát, Bőcs, Sajószöged

 

page love of memories Collective collage of all the wonderful rememberings

22 Responses to “My trip to Hungary – Week 1”

  1. Hámori Lake is beautiful and Diósgyőri fortress makes me swoon! I love seeing old fortresses and castles. It sounds like you had a fabulous time!

    • I love water and fortresses and castles myself, luckily I was able to visit them, and what blew me off was when we went to Miskolc after dark so I could take photos of the city and as a bonus I also got to take that lovely night photo of the fortress ;)
      I most certainly had a fabulous time!

  2. These are wonderful! I can see you had a great time and really enjoyed yourself. I really love the cabin in the beech forest, very fairy tale-like. :)

  3. I especially love the forests and waterfalls and Tiszaújváros and the fortress! It looks like you had a really fabulous trip! So happy for you, sweetheart! Thank you for sharing! *Big Hugs*

    • So almost all the photos? I know, I can’t decide what I liked best either :)
      I did have a great time and enjoyed myself, really the best trip I ever had on my own. *big hugs right back at ya*

  4. Ooooh, photos! Those Tiszaújváros ones are beautiful! The worst part of a good holiday is coming back, and the weeks that ensue. Sigh… I still miss Japan, and I’ve been back from my holiday there for a good month or so now.

    • Thanks, glad you like them David :)
      And so true… I miss Hungary a lot, especially being care-free, relaxed and able to do anything I wanted, visit anything I wanted without having to think of anyone else ;)

      • Heh yeah, like you said, holidays are great for carefree decadence and living it up lavishly! I’m a bit like you – sometimes I start feeling guilty if I spend too long putting myself first and not doing anything too constructive. I’m sure there’s a balance somewhere, but it’s so hard do find.

        • I know what you mean! Putting ourselves first may seem like selfishness, but it’s necessary at least from time to time. Otherwise we probably wouldn’t be too happy, if at all.

          “One of the best ways to make yourself happy is to make other people happy; One of the best ways to make other people happy is to be happy yourself.”

  5. How wonderful for you Estrella! I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed your “me time”. Oh, how I’d love to be able to take a couple weeks, heck, even a couple days, to travel alone and take in all the beauty around me. *sigh*

    I absolutely adore the Lillafüred – Hámori Lake and its waterfalls pictures! If I ever get up the nerve to fly overseas I’ll certainly be visiting this gorgeous land.

    Thanks so much for sharing your experience!

    • Thanks, Deanna! Hope you get to relax a bit too, very soon. And if you ever think of coming overseas, let me know, I’ll take any opportunity to meet you, and go back with you as a tour guide.

      Glad you liked the lake and its waterfalls, it simply amazed me as I’ve never been near a waterfall before. And… I’ll admit, I cheated a bit and went to see the waterfall from up close and personal: hiked right under it, that’s why you can see one of the photos from underneath the falls ;) (just don’t tell anyone…)

      • Wow Estrella, I can’t imagine having not seen a waterfall. We live in the mountains where there are a gazillion waterfalls, though you do have to hike a strenuous trail to get to most of them. Just goes to show how different our areas are.

        If I ever do get over that way I will definitely let you know. I’m sure you’d be a fabulous tour guide, and I’d love to see the castles!

        • Well now I have, so hurray! And I’m totally jealous about where you live (when can I move there?)
          It’s not that I had to travel all the way to Hungary to see a waterfall, we have them here in Romania too, but it was actually cheaper to travel there than visit most of the places here since we don’t have a car. I can’t wait to see so many of the wonderful places here in Romania too…

          Hope you’ll get to let me know about coming visiting *fingers crossed* Hugs!

  6. Your photos are amazing! It sounds like you had a wonderful time.

  7. I think the photos from Tiszaújváros and the caves are my favorites, but it was hard to choose. Lovely lovely lovely. thank you for sharing.
    Glad to have you back.
    :0)

    • So happy you like them, I loved everything I visited, so it’s interesting to see what everyone likes best.
      I’m glad I could share my memories and to see all my friends over to look at my photos is just wonderful. And I totally know what you mean about it being hard to choose… and you only had 12 photo collages to choose from ;)

  8. Thanks for taking us along on your Hungarian journey Estrella! I love seeing the photos and hope that you will blog about some of your encounters too.

    • You’re very welcome, I’m glad you liked the photos :)
      I’ll blog about it too, a few lines about each of my days there, just thought photos would be nice first. Glad you dropped by!

  9. nice collages :D it really makes us feel like we HAVE TO go see all those wonderful places ourselves

Trackbacks

