Letting loose the little kid inside ;)

Found this poetry idea engine through Savvy Verse & Wit. It’s a great way for kids to learn about poetry while playing, and, ummm… letting loose the little kid inside myself, here’s what I came up with.

It was fun! ;)

 

Haiku: For hope

Starfish growing legs,
Soon they will be leaping out
Jumping up for hope.

 

Limerick: Chuckling giraffe

There once was a grumpy giraffe
Who hadn’t chuckled since he was a calf.
But one morn a bunny
Said a story so funny,
So he finally enjoyed a good laugh.

 

Cinquain: Torrid desert

Desert
Intensely stark
Sand dunes stir daily
To elude the sun, but at night
Beautiful

 

Free verse: Playful

Letting loose
the little kid inside,
You may find you’re not
as unplayful as you thought.

14 Comments to “Letting loose the little kid inside ;)”

  1. Yes, you did make me smile on a rainy, gray morning. :)

  2. I love that limerick, funny!

    Your “Torrid desert” is gorgeous. How could I not love a haiku for hope?

    And what a playful little kid you have inside. It’s wonderful that she’s so accessible to you.

    These were fun.

    • Thanks, I’m glad you liked my playing around type of post and had fun reading :)
      And I’m hoping never to lose that playful little kid inside!

      PS: don’t worry about it ;)

  3. You’re right! This poetry engine thing IS fun!
    I love your grumpy giraffe limerick.
    Heh, I used to spend so much time making up random haikus, because they’re just so fun! When I say “used to”, it wasn’t even that long ao…

    • I know, right? Haikus are fun, though I usually get lost and in over-think-it mode when it comes to something with set numbers of syllables, etc. :P
      And I’m glad to hear that, don’t spend too much time making up random haikus, but do spend time doing it, we all need some distraction and relaxation in our hectic lives, don’t we?

  4. I love them all — the free verse the most I think. So simple yet just what I needed to hear.
    Thank you!

    • Thanks Becky, I’m so happy you found here what you needed to read! You’re so welcome!
      And thanks, the free verse was my favorite too, that’s the one where they didn’t provide the choices. So that was the most fun; actually writing that one.

  5. Found you on Lori’s Linky for Show Me The Money Fun.

    Great blog….never visited before.

  6. really nice :) my fav. is the Torrid desert :D nice job

  7. This was fun. I like the results you got. I’m off to check out the site.

  8. Thanks for sharing with us this informative site, love the poems.

