Store without plastic – Fruits

S7009271 I need to start a small war with plastic. There are days when I think I could win, others when I feel overwhelmed. Plastic proves to be a formidable enemy, whenever I feel that I’ve made some progress, it only proves to be a one-step-forward two-steps-back sort of thing.
I make sure I go shopping with my backpack and also have enough previously bought bags and reuse those, cloth bags, etc., but I have a problem with home storing products, as I invariably end up using plastic to some degree.

So I sought advice on how I could keep fruits and vegetables fresh without the use of plastic and have found some very useful recommendations I wanted to share with you too, depending on the type of fruit or vegetables we want to keep for a short period of time (from a couple of days to a maximum of two weeks).

Store without plastic – Fruits

  • apples – can be kept on a shelf away from direct sunlight, preferably in the closet; if you want to keep them for a longer period of time you can put in a carton box in the refrigerator
  • citrus – can be kept in a cool, dark place, and never in a tightly closed container
  • apricots and nectarines – if very ripe, they can be kept in the fridge, in carton boxes (before eating it’s good to let them sit for a few hours at room temperature)
  • cherries – must be kept in a sealed, closed recipient without previously washing them (water can lead to mold)
  • figs – do not like humidity, so do not wash them until you’re ready to consume; you can even freeze them
  • peaches – if very ripe it’s best if you keep them in the refrigerator in paper bags; or in some countries they can be kept outside in a cool, dark place
  • pears – are kept well in the pantry; if you want to speed up ripening, put them next to apples
  • strawberries – preserve in the refrigerator in paper bags without washing them

Next week I’ll continue with tips for storing vegetables without the use of plastic packaging.

7 Comments to “Store without plastic – Fruits”

  1. I understand the war on plastic. I feel that way often but our temperatures here are so high that many things have to go to the fridge. Btw – I made the mash yesterday and froze it for future use.

  2. Some great advice! We all need to do our part.

  3. Very nice tips. and i am happy that you choose my tasty apples for the picture :D
    they may be small and a bit deformed but the taste of the smallest one is better than of 10 from the supermarket… (they are from our garden in the country) :D

  4. Mmmm I’ll think about that! But my fridge isn’t working well. I hope that the one in the new house will be better! Have a nice week!

  5. That’s a great list of tips, thanks!

  6. Great tips there!
    You are a very smart person!

