Homemade Cough Syrups

As the weather keeps getting colder each day and Winter is just around the corner, figured a simple and effective cough syrup recipe would be beneficial to many of my readers.

They don’t have side effects and harmful substances making them suitable for children and pregnant women alike (as opposed to many syrups found in pharmacies) :)

Homemade Cough Syrups

Lemon and honey Syrup

Needed:
2 lemons
200 ml of good quality honey

Preparation:
Boil the lemons in a pot of water at soft heat for 10 minutes; by boiling they’ll soften and you will end up with a greater quantity of juice. Cut in half and squeeze very well into a glass. You can also use the pulp if you want to.
Add the lemon juice to the honey and mix well; you can even reheat it a bit so the honey will melt and mix uniformly with the lemon juice.

Use:
Take 1 teaspoon of syrup every time you cough or as prevention take about 6 teaspoons throughout the day after meals and at bedtime.

Carrot Syrup

Ingredients:
3-4 carrots

Preparation:
Wash the carrots well and cut into thin slices. Put them in a deep bowl and cover with powdered sugar. Allow the syrup to form overnight.

Use:
Take 3-4 tablespoons per day. You can also eat the carrots.

Black Radish Syrup

Needed:
1 black radish

Preparation:
Hollow the black radish in the manner of a volcano. Fill the hole with powdered sugar. It will form a thick syrup overnight.

Use:
Take 3-4 tablespoons per day.

Stay healthy everyone! :)

10 Responses to “Homemade Cough Syrups”

  1. yes great recipes! thanks for sharing with us another batch of amazing homemade remedies, beats every pharmacy found syrup! :D

  2. I remember some homemada cough syrup from my childhood, made by my lovely tía Angelita. It involved some garlic and onion on its preparation. It’s not a nice memory, though. We prefered to get better just by waiting the cough to go away.
    :D

  3. I’ve used the honey/lemon one since I was a kid. I have to admit the carrot and radish ones are new to me! Not sure if we have black radishes in our area, but I can definitely give the carrot version a try! :)

  4. These recipes sound wonderful. Just never give anything with honey to children under one year of age because of the risk of infant botulism.

  5. Give me a lemon and honey syrup any day, I remember the ones my grandmother used to make from onions… bleah… the honey and lemon one is just as great and kids will willfully take it :P

  6. Oh, I made the radish one just a couple of days ago for my 7 year old, very effective!

  7. Fascinating ideas Estrella. I’m familiar with honey and lemon but that’s where it ends. Carrots? Black Radish? I ALWAYS wonder what I should do with the black radish when we get them. Now I know.

  8. Glad you’ve heard of them, let me know when you’ve tried making them and tell me about their effectiveness :)

Trackbacks

