Tomorrow is a new day

Have you guys made any New Year’s resolutions? Will you work hard on keeping them or will they be forgotten in the following few days when the hectic-ness of everyday life takes over again?
Do they matter?

I’ll make and reaffirm my life choices whenever needed; when I walk on a different path or make my own path, when I feel lost or confused, when I’m in need of a change, when I want to experiment and when I make mistakes…
Some of these happen often enough that I have a New Year almost monthly ;)

I like the prospect of tomorrow being a new day.
Tomorrow is always a new day with no mistakes in it yet.
It always offers a chance to turn the page on yesterday,
even on last year, and its old ways.

2010 has been a year of angst, of possibilities, of mistakes, of dreams come true, of striving for the best I can achieve and be, of hope, of helplessness, opportunities, of Life… It has been one of the messiest, scariest, toughest, challenging, yet also one of the best years so far.

So, I’ve decided to re-work a bit, add a few things to my personal commandments list and publish that as opposed to a resolutions list, precisely because I think personal commandments are the core behind everything else we may want to achieve, the principles that guide our lives.

 

Estrella Azul’s Personal Commandments

  • Be Estrella
  • Dare to dream and dare to live
  • Be flexible, be willing to compromise and make course corrections
  • Be determined and diligent -> stay positive and maintain optimism as much as I can
  • Listen carefully so I can learn something new as often as I have the chance to
  • Know my weaknesses -> embrace them, and learn how to overcome them
  • Enjoy Life more -> decide to ‘Go For It’ when I have a good opportunity, and remember to have fun and enjoy the journey
  • Be grateful for all I have and all I am -> ‘give back’ with kindness and charity, help others
  • Accept that Life is messy -> that I need to make messes in order to find out who I am and why I’m here
  • Notice the little things
  • Be creative, improvise, work with what I have and sometimes, if I’m really lucky, what I’ll have will turn out to be exactly what I need
  • Know that it’s okay to follow someone else’s lead from time to time
  • Leap (and the net will appear!)

 

Now it’s your turn, tell me, what are your personal commandments, resolutions and or expectations from yourself for 2011?

17 Responses to “Tomorrow is a new day”

  1. Estrella, this is a wonderful list. I also love what you said about tomorrow always being a new day with no mistakes yet. I didn’t make any resolutions this year – other than to try to be the best person I can be and a good mom to Sammy. I wish you all the best in 2011 Estrella – I’m glad to have met you online!

    • Thanks, and I’m glad you also like that thought about ‘tomorrow’.
      Those resolutions are great ones to make Darlene! Sammy is one lucky puppy ;)

      I’m so glad to have met you too :) Hugs!

  2. Wonderful resolutions, Estrella! I think, for me, the main one will be not to let fear stop me from doing the things I really want/need to be doing in order to achieve dreams. :)

    Here’s to 2011 bringing us good tidings!

  3. it’s a great list :) happy for you! and i really like the fact that you posted it on 2011.1.1 :)
    May all your wishes come true :)

    • I, too, love that I’ve posted this on 1.1.11 – has such a great ring to it ;)
      Thank you for your wish, I hope all your wishes come true too and you have an amazing 2011!

  4. I don’t use to make New Year’s resolutions. I think I’d be frustrated if I don’t achieve them by mid January.
    :D
    So I just try to stay true to myself, every single day. But, in spite of not making lists for me, I’ll review your list and see if I can “borrow” some of your resolutions.
    Happy 2011!

    • Being a perfectionist myself I can totally understand why you don’t make resolutions (and why personal commandments work better for me) ;)
      You can borrow any of the above commandments, Gabriela, staying on top of things every single day is a great thing.

      Happy 2011 to you too!

  5. I think we all should adopt personal commandments and you have some great ones. Happy New Year!

  6. “Tomorrow is always a new day with no mistakes in it yet.” Estrella, I Love, Love, Love that statement and plan to hang it on my inspiration board, which is above my desk, the first thing I see before starting work every day.

    Speaking of work, today is my first day back after having taken two weeks off (the “real job”). I had been hibernating with books during that vacation so made little attempt at creating resolutions, or affirmations, or anything of the sort. But now I feel rejuvenated, ready to plunge in and create my goals and personal commandments, both professionally and personally. Let’s just hope I don’t walk into “disasters that happened in my absence”, so I can concentrate on those goals and not end up putting out fires all week.

    Thank you for a wonderful post!

    • Thank you, Deanna, glad to have inspired you again :)

      Your goals I’m sure will be great, can’t wait to read them if you post them, and I hope you had a lovely day back at work!

  7. P.S. I did get off my lazy hind-end long enough to post a blog yesterday, a positive one (I hope): http://writingwonder.wordpress.com/2011/01/02/motivate-inspire-read-create/

  8. I love love love this post, you have such a great view of life!
    Even when staying optimistic is hard, this is a wonderful way of looking at everything that’s around us, at life. I’m bookmarking this and putting a few thoughts up on my own inspiration board :)

  9. What a fresh viewpoint, I’m looking forward to new days myself now.

Trackbacks

