Things you might not know about natural beauty products

A title perhaps surprising, but I’m going to type out, with your additions possibly in the comments section, a few things we do not say explicitly about natural homemade beauty products which we should be concerned about or interested in.

  1. One thing that a friend pointed to me and, indeed, I’ve also noticed: natural homemade cosmetics clog drains (tub, sink). Unpleasant, but as they’re based on oil – not water and chemicals – soaps, shower gels and natural exfoliating products optimally nourish the skin but have the undesirable side effect of clogging drains. And cause slippery tubs, so be careful!
    To relieve this problem, use a couple of spoonfuls of sodium bicarbonate and a glass of vinegar; pour them into the drain and leave to react, boil 1 liter of water you will pour into the drain after half an hour, and then let the tap water on for 2-3 minutes.
  2. Natural products have more features than just one. For example: soaps can be used as solid shampoos, face soaps, and also by men for shaving. Creams can be used for the whole body, oils can be used for both cleansing and moisturizing.
    So even if the label doesn’t say that ‘this soap is specifically a shaving soap’, it can still be used for that purpose.
  3. Bio cosmetics do not always smell as we expected, but they have a natural scent.
    For example, I’ve always loved, before switching to organic, shower gels or creams with almond scent. But now I know how false that scent of so-called "almond" in creams and in other products with chemicals in them is.
    Almond oil has the most discreet scent, not resembling much to what you find in other products than natural ones.

These were just a few of my observations.
Feel free to let me know of both advantages and disadvantages you’ve found using natural beauty products :)

6 Comments to “Things you might not know about natural beauty products”

  1. One thing my sister learned the hard way – the fact that it’s natural does not mean that you cannot be allergic to something. Test new products first! ^^

    • Oh yes, that’s a good point, can’t believe I forgot to mention it. Many people can be allergic especially to the essential oils natural beauty products contain, so we do need to test every new product beforehand.
      Thanks for the reminder, Diandra! :)

  2. Another thing I learned from experience is that, because they don’t have preservatives, the shelf life of natural is not long so one needs to make products frequently.

    • Thanks for pointing this out, Marisa!
      Also, it’s a good idea to keep some of the products in the fridge in a well sealed container. That stretches their shelf life a bit, depending on the product :)

  3. I switched to natural solid shampoo and conditioner for my hair about 6 months ago and I will never go back to store-bought shampoo!

    • That’s great!
      I’ve also switched to preparing my own no-poo shampoo quite a while back (is it 2 years? I think so) and have then switched to an organic shampoo I found at a reasonable price this year, cause I couldn’t exactly start preparing my own shampoo while traveling :)
      And I agree, natural’s the best!

