Radiant darkness – by Estrella Azul

I avoid
scouring the depths of my being.
I’m exhausted
to argue with myself any longer;
day by day,
instant by instant.
I don’t wish
to ask any more questions,
I don’t need
any more contradictory responses.
It’s overly vast
to live with this multitude of inner reins.

Reluctantly, I glance outside and surprisedly notice 
the mystical way
a coat of crisp white snow causes even the darkest night
to seem radiant.

15 Comments to “Radiant darkness – by Estrella Azul”

  1. It does feel nice to let go and stop trying to pretend oneself will be uniform or rational. Better some nights to play in the bright snow.

  2. And I hope you may have lots of radiant nights.

  3. Those last four lines act as a balm to the mind after all that went before. There’s such a sense of peace in them, they are a joy to read and the whole sense of the work changes at that point.

    Lovely.

    Enjoy the breath of peace the radiant night brings.

    • Thank you, Kevin!
      Those last few lines for me express hope – one has nothing if there isn’t at least one narrow ray of hope.
      I like to think (and have, eve if intangible, proof) that nature has a way of lifting our spirits, of providing said hope.

  4. I love the look of a snow covered night lit by a full moon.
    Thanks for this.

  5. Absolutely beautiful Estrella, as all your poetry is. Thanks so much for sharing this.

  6. Yes, that’s one of the reasons I love snow.

  7. Thanks, Donald and Nessa, I absolutely love snow myself as you could tell I’m sure. It always brings me peace.

  8. Beautiful poem. I miss snow. But I also wanted to say that I saw something like your blue starfish in a store the other day. It was crystal, way too expensive for me, but I instantly thought of you. I like the way the shadows fall beneath it in your photo. And I love the color. Patsye

    • Thank you, Patsye! And as much as I love snow, I miss the ocean a lot (maybe more than I should given that I can’t just up and move there, although I certainly wish I could!)

      You spotting that blue starfish similar to mine that reminded you of me really made me smile :) (I love how well that photo turned out as well with the shadows and shining)

  9. Hope that you comprehend what an amazing job your are accomplishing with sharing your words here with many others through your blog. Most everyone felt this way at least once before, you’ve captured this so well!

  10. Interesting thoughts, sad but hopeful at the same time. Wonderful poem Estrella :)

