Recipe of the month: Hungarian Crepes

It’s that time of the month again when I feel like I haven’t been baking enough, like I’ve neglected having fun in the kitchen in favor of quick and easy recipes…

And that’s where my grandmother’s crepes recipe come in handy – they’re quick and easy enough to make while providing lots of fun (the flipping in the air part), an amazing and diverse dessert ;)

page hungarian crepes

Palacsinta – Hungarian Crepes

25 dkg flour
3  eggs
3 dl milk
1 tsp sugar
a little butter or oil
a little mineral water
1 pinch salt

Mix the eggs with the sugar, salt, milk and flour. Add enough mineral water to result in about the density of cream.

Rest the dough for at least half an hour.

Then pour a thin layer of the batter onto a hot frying pan or flat circular hot plate, adding a trace of butter on the pan’s surface. Spread the batter evenly over the cooking surface of the pan by tilting the pan or by distributing the batter with an offset spatula.

Fry on both sides until it turns  red.

I love the diversity of this, as you can eat it with basically anything:

a) if you want a sweet dessert add a bit more sugar and  when done spread: Nutella, pudding, jam, powdered sugar, cocoa, mix of sugar and grated walnuts, etc. on it

b) you can add a lot of things into the batter before baking: peanut butter, diced mushrooms, squash, pumpkin, apples, etc.

Bon appétit ;)

14 Comments to “Recipe of the month: Hungarian Crepes”

  1. Wow that does sound easy. I may have to give that a spin!

  2. I love crepes, but have never tried making them myself. I tried a dessert one at a creperie that had brown sugar and lemon. Yum!

  3. Like Janel, we used to buy these at a New Jersey beach…hot and sprinkled with granulated sugar and fresh squeezed lemon. OMG! I can taste them now! Patsye

  4. There is a wonderfully delicious delicacy I could recommend you for these crepes: in peru, we call it manjarblanco, literally, white delicacy. It’s what Argentinians call dulce de leche, literally sweet made of milk. You can look it up on Google.
    Mouthwatering!

  5. I love to stack these on top of each other and add sugar and cocoa in between the layers, then add whip cream and slice it like a cake. It’s to die for :)

  6. I love crepes and there is so much you can do with them. I’m not any good at the flipping part. Anyhow, I digress here. We make these crepes with a cottage cheese filling and then cover in cream and bake in the oven. They are absolutely to die for!

