Subtle Signs? :)

A friend of mine was wondering out loud a few weeks ago if she was missing the signs.
Now, I may have been more aware since we talked about it, but I answered by saying what I still believe:
signs are easy to miss, they tend to be subtle (unless you’re the main character of a movie, there won’t be any flashing neon lights or arrows pointing towards the right direction).
This makes signs more of a big deal when we actually recognize them (in time).

IMG_1497-1

Yesterday, as I turned the page of my wonderful Book Lover’s Calendar from February to March, the picture and quote of the month stood out more than in the previous two months of 2011.

The picture is of the Chapter One Restaurant’s sign in Dublin. Of course the name is what caught my attention and slowly sank in – “Chapter One”. The first chapter, the beginning of a journey – both literally and figuratively.

As I read the quote of the month at the bottom of the page, I realized -  it couldn’t possibly be more spot on as I’m traveling to Paris for a long weekend this Friday.

"If you take a book with you on a journey,…an odd thing happens: The book begins collecting your memories. And forever after you have only to open that book to be back where you first read it. It will all come into your mind with the very first words: the sights you saw in that place, what it smelled like, the ice cream you ate while you were reading it…yes, books are like flypaper–memories cling to the printed page better than anything else."
Cornelia Funke (Inkheart)

I’ve already decided (last week actually) which books I’m taking with me.

And then, this morning I came across this post from Daisy Janie and fell in love with that last locket cover. Leap! (I sooo want one of those!)

Now, separately I might be inclined to brush them off as mere coincidences.
I mean I find/see/read stuff I like/inspires me and which could be in some way applied to my life on a regular basis.
However, stringing all of these together in an under 24 hours period…

Is it just me, or is the Universe trying to tell me something? ;)

PS: I’ll be offline for about a week, but I’ll try to tweet about my trip once a day if I can.

19 Comments to “Subtle Signs? :)”

  1. Yes, I think the universe sometimes tries to give us hints. Whether or not we see them is a bad joke though.
    Enjoy your trip my friend!

  2. Amazing concept about book acting as memory bank from our journeys. I have always wondered about relation between books and travel. Typically a great writer is also a traveller. And reading while travelling is one of the most simple pleasures.
    http://iandbooks.wordpress.com/

    • Loved the concept myself, and it rang so true, because I’ve noticed that before when I was re-reading books I love. I’m so grateful to have the opportunity to travel, and can’t wait to sink into my book while waiting around at the airport(s) :)
      Thank you for stopping by!

  3. I tend to collect those signs, and I like giving them a sense.
    Have a nice trip!

    • You sound like me then, Gabriela, although I’m usually weary to give them a sense (unless they come in threes and in under 24 hours) ;)
      And, I will, thank you!

  4. Hey, I recognize those hand warmers. :)

    I have a very strong belief that the “universe” will give you what you need, when you need it. All you have to do is let it now what you want in advance!

    • Hmmm… a very generous and wonderful friend of mine sent me those hand warmers from over seas… maybe you know her ;) (Thank you again, see how much I love them?)

      I also noticed that the Universe provides when I least expect it, so letting it know what I want, having it ‘out there’ and staying positive/hopeful is always a good idea.

  5. Have fun, beautiful! And take pictures. Some of us have to live vicariously! xo

  6. Enjoy your trip and have a great time, Estrella :)

  7. I expect a full report of the trip once you get back, Missy. ;P

  8. Signs are really hard to see if you simply go about your day as someone who doesn’t care about most anything, so when I see someone who finds things that inspire them on a regular basis and notices the signs it’s a rare find.
    Keep on noticing the signs and being aware that life often makes us miss out if we don’t read between the lines.

  9. The universe always sends signal but it is so often that we are not listening for the signs. Thanks for the reminder.

  10. So right, signs don’t exactly come knocking on ones door. Hope the trip was good!

