Recipe of the month: Kőttes Palacsinta

One of my favorite desserts, though I can’t have it as often as I’d like… So, guess what I’m craving right now?

page hungarian doughnutspage doughnuts

Hungarian Doughnuts

1 / 2 kg flour
2 egg yolks
4 dl milk 
1 tablespoon sugar
2 dkg yeast
melted butter
pinch of salt
Oil for frying, Powdered sugar, jam or fruit syrup, etc.

Warm up the yeast with the sugar and 1 dl milk. In a bowl mix the sifted flour, egg yolk, salt, yeast and about 3 dl milk so the dough is not too soft. Add the flour one cup at a time while mixing on low speed until the dough is smooth and elastic about. If the dough is too sticky, add more flour.
Mix thoroughly then add the lukewarm melted butter. Cover and let rise until doubles its size for 2 1/2 hours.

Punch down dough. On floured surface, roll out the dough to 1/2-inch thickness. Using a round cutter, cut out doughnuts without cutting out a smaller circle in the centre. Transfer doughnuts to floured baking sheet. Cover and let rise for 1 hour.

Deep-fry for 1 – 2 minutes until lightly browned on both sides. With slotted spoon, remove to paper towels.

Serve with jam, powdered sugar, syrup, or my personal favorite Garlic Sauce

Bon appétit ;)

 

Note: variation on TheHungarianGirl’s Carnival Doughnuts

10 Responses to “Recipe of the month: Kőttes Palacsinta”

  1. It’d be impossible not to have a bon appetite with such a delicious dessert.

  2. I’m really happy to have found this! I cannot wait to let my friends know about this great recipe, I really like this with jam :)

  3. These seem fantastic!

  4. doughnuts are my favorite food. {smile}

  5. Honestly! I could never make something like these for fear that I’d eat them. My mother used to make homemade donuts and I loved them.

    • My grandmother makes the best ones I’ve ever eaten – and I know what you mean: I made these a few weeks ago and ended up eating waaay too many. But I sort of balanced it out by eating only huge salads the next two days :P

  6. Glad you all liked this recipe, let me know when you’ve tried it out :)

  7. My aunt made these from a similar recipe, they were amazing!

Trackbacks

