Recognizing oneself

A couple of weeks ago, I read one of Annie Q. Syed’s Still Sundays posts. It was just wonderful, as all her writing is!
Yet one passage at the end of her post captured my attention and has stayed with me ever since:

"I see a girl walking by — backpack on her shoulders that weighs far less than her thoughts — trying to find how far she can run from who she is without any more destruction to herself. She smiles because who doesn’t smile while visiting Italy."

I can recognize someone I don’t always know too well in these few lines. Someone who still hasn’t totally gotten over something that happened 3 years ago.
And though, as much as all the places I visited, last year and a couple of months ago, have filled me with memories I’ll cherish forever – at that exact moment when I’ve read it, the above mentioned paragraph described me perfectly…

And… I think many of us resemble that girl, either too often or not too often, as we travel through Life.

Wishing everyone who can relate to be able to keep smiling throughout the journey!

15 Responses to “Recognizing oneself”

  1. Letting go is an art and perhaps one of the few worth pursuing fully, unequivocally with all of your heart’s force – so that there’s an opening for more, for new life to enter the moment and engulf you with presence. For me, dropping the backpack is one of those tasks that are now part of my mission. Thanks for sharing this Estrella.

    • So true, which is why I loved your vlog on letting go so much when I saw it. Dropping the backpack is a good mission to be on, and dropping the thoughts while we do that even better.
      Thank you for stopping by, Bernardo!

  2. dear estrella,

    i appreciate you mentioning my words, in your space here. also for liking my writings—not everyone’s cup of tea and that’s okay. : )

    it is uncanny when words of another stick within our skin, as if they were written about us or for us. it has happened to me too, so i understand.

    i am thinking about what you wrote that some of us don’t resemble that girl enough often. that is quite a thought. although i think being that girl is not the best feeling in hindsight or while being present in that moment, makes for an interesting journey and personal development eventually, if so one choose. the danger is attachment to that identity.

    cheers and gratitude,

    ~a.

    • Dear Annie,

      don’t mention it, you have a way with words I aspire to. Many times they do stick within my skin, glad to hear you know what I mean.

      I think resembling that girl by keeping the smile on our face is something we need to focus on from time to time. But you’re right, being that girl from the inner conflict perspective – and yes, there is a definite danger in attachment to that identity.

      Thank you so much for taking the time to come over and share your thoughts!

  3. Well, I guess everybody can relate to a backpack on the shoulders that weighs far less than our own thoughts. Who hasn’t been there?

  4. I can relate. I keep going. I keep smiling. And I wish the same as you, that others do the same.

  5. For me quitting is often not an option. So I figure I might as well smile along the way! :)

  6. mmm the baggage that we carry. But to walk with a smile. And find peace. ahhh.

  7. This is lovely, Estrella (and Annie). The goal has to be to stop running from ourselves. And, of course, to visit Italy. (It’s on the life list.) ;-)

Trackbacks

