Cute corner bookmarks

I’ve been mostly neglecting the Green Lifestyle posts, particularly the ‘Arts, crafts & recycling’ section as I like to post pictures of what I made. Luckily for me (and you) I still have my friend’s camera for the day and I found a super quick & easy tutorial to share.

I’ve stated it before and I’ll say it again: I’m always short of bookmarks. Last year I posted a tutorial on how to create some Classy handmade bookmarks with the paper napkin transfer method – which I still make semi-regularly as gifts, as well as for myself (only semi-regularly cause my fear of hot or sharp objects around my fingers doesn’t seem to pass) ;) 

Here are the latest creations, all done in less than five minutes!

page corner bookmars

page corner bookmarks

Cute corner bookmarks

Scrap cardstock: white, colored, patterned, etc. – It’s a good idea to work with two different colored cardstock 
Craft glue
Scissors and paper pinking shears
Craft accessories, decorations
Pens and markers

Cut two 2×2 inch squares from the colored cardstock. Cut the corner off of the white (different colored) cardstock, then cut one of the squares in half diagonally to create a triangle.

Spread a thin layer of glue on one side of the triangle and fit the white cardstock inside, trimming it with pinking shears to create a decorative pattern along the edge.

Add a thin layer of glue along the two shorter edges of the triangle and press onto the square – this creates a pocket for the corner of your book.

Allow the glue to dry and your bookmark is ready to slip onto the corner of your page!

Happy crafting and reading! ;)

12 Comments to “Cute corner bookmarks”

  1. I’d be very glad to read a book with those colorful bookmarks!

  2. Oh, these are wonderful. Think I’ll whip some up for teacher presents!

  3. Very handy there, Estrella
    :-)

    Didn’t know you had all that hidden talent

    • You should start crafting, Laura, I’m sure Jezebel would want one! (maybe that monster looking one or you could personalize it with a skull application)

  4. Haha, I like the one with the eyes. They’re all cute.

  5. My favorite is the one with the heart! I’ll have to make one of those. Thanks for sharing the “recipe.”

    :: catherine

