Loving Love Graffiti

June, according to J’s Love Project, was the month of love graffiti, a month to leave behind little love notes and messages for others to find.

Since my phone camera is mostly for show, and vehemently refuses to take good photos unless it’s outside in sunny weather (although it keeps a selective mind even then), I didn’t take a photo of every single love message I’ve left, nor where I left them since my frustration with poor quality photos would’ve drawn attention to my sneaking around to leave said love notes.

So, to go with what I have proof of, this past month, I’ve left post-it messages to say there’s an endless supply of hugs in my room. To state beauty and lots of love. To wish bon appétit & yummy food to go along with the appetite; a sunny day; and a lovely day such as the person I was wishing it for. To send millions of kisses; and hugs. To say thank you for a walk and for turning my afternoon into a lovely one.

page post-it love-1

I also found this love graffiti downtown as I was walking home in the rain (for the Nth time).

page i love graffiti 

And while I was at it, leaving love behind, I was more attuned to noticing how love didn’t always come in written form.

It came in the form of: a walk that turned out to be longer than both of us expected (but oh-so-fun), recipes printed out and stuck in my mailbox after I mentioned to a friend my need for some new rice recipe ideas, apples and cinnamon flavored micro popcorn in the mailbox (talk about unusual mail), paw print patterns – kitty love, real/virtual hugs and kisses, a statement that I didn’t look as awful as the rain actually did made me look, a cool new mug for the occasion of our semi-renovated house, conversations, prompts, sharing tech-savvy-ness as technology hated me more than usually this week, emails expressing love, links to (love (computer love)) songs, lending stuff/help/time, a plate of yummy cherries magically appearing on the counter. And so on.

cherry love

Now I’m curious: what was your month like spreading-love-wise?

10 Responses to “Loving Love Graffiti”

  1. What a great post! I am in love, Love, LOVE with this guy I married 28 years ago! He is the sweetest, gentlest man ever. Happily enough, he likes me, too! I love to leave love notes in his underwear drawer….

    The other way I spread love is by cooking and feeding people. I discovered that blogging about my recipes is spreading love to everyone…in my own way.

    Looking forward to your next post! ….subscribed!

    • Thank you, Ann, it’s good to see you here! (I really like your blog too, subscribed to it via GoogleReader)

      I loved reading about your way of leaving love behind – the underwear drawer is definitely interesting place to leave love messages.
      Cooking and feeding people is something I also enjoy, spreading love, leaving love behind in your own way on your blog and off-blog is what’s most important :)

  2. Those cherries look yummy indeed. Mouthwatering.

  3. Love this, Estrella. And that has been one of the most amazing surprises of the Love Project – the degree to which it has made me SO observant of how present love is in my everyday life. The littlest gestures, the sweetest silences, the grandest demonstrations. Even in nature… love is everywhere, once you start looking.

    • Yes, j, it is one of the most amazing surprises of the Love Project!
      I’m learning that looking, noticing is the best way to live life. Love really is all around us, everything is all about love in everyday life and in the long run. We’re happiest when we’re loved – but we need to notice how much love there is everywhere to fully appreciate it!

  4. Lovely photos, that’s a nice month to have and share love

  5. That is so cool, what a great idea. Love all the love here! <3

Trackbacks

