Out the door, right out of my comfort zone

Something I occasionally always do is: question. Even when I shouldn’t. Even when I know there’s no reason to. Yet I do it. Especially regarding myself. There’s nothing in this world I question more then myself.

This is why many things are out of my comfort zone. And of course they call it “comfort zone” because it is just that, comfortable. I don’t like to make things uncomfortable. I avoid it as much as possible.

However, there are those moments when I remember to choose acting on that first instinct. When my answer to an invitation is “Yes”. After which I start hyperventilating and panicking about basically only knowing one person at that event I agreed to attend. I do this right up until the last minute before ringing the doorbell and being welcomed into the circle.

And then I realize how wrong I can be.

I realize how pushing myself out the door and right out of my comfort zone is more than beneficial. How much fun I have as soon as I get comfortable. How I do get comfortable. How getting home at 6 AM never felt quite as great. How, when someone (three guesses who?) throws the idea of taking a walk and watching the sunrise since we’re up out there, one’s friend agrees without asking why.

It’s still tough even though I’ve had numerous proofs to this end. The important thing is, I’m working on getting better at it. I’m doing my best to say “Yes” to more and more new things than I would’ve before, than I would’ve even just a year ago.

~~~

And for something completely different: don’t you just love it how/when Love turns up in the most unexpected places? Like while playing board games.

heart in board games

13 Responses to “Out the door, right out of my comfort zone”

  1. Absolutely wonderful! :D

  2. Oh so true! And I can relate to it somewhat. I used to be really shy, unsure of myself, for many years. I didn’t really start becoming who I am now until I was in my thirties, and I continued to grow, change…..and hopefully improve! :)
    Congrats to you and the happiness you’re feeling!!

  3. Estrella, not only can I relate (i hyperventilate half day through the event), but I find this very timely for me. I’m in the throes of making some decisions that would so be out of my comfort zone, and I just want to sit in my comfy chair and watch cartoons. I know that going forward with the decision would potentially change me in some dramatic ways, and the prospect is exciting, yet, as you said, uncomfortable.

    Thanks for pointing this out to me, and us. And for bringing perspective to it. You do that so well :-)
    *hugs*

    • Kenneth, I’m so glad this was timely for you and that I could help point it out/bring perspective to this. I’ll be here, cheering you on in your decision not to remain in your comfy chair and watch cartoons :) I know you’ll make these exciting changes happen, and will be glad you did – no matter how uncomfortable it feels right now.

      Thank you for liking my post, that means so much. Especially to know how it resonated with you.
      *huge hugs*

  4. Lovely! I enjoy my comfort zone and tend to live and die by the schedule….I understand I need to push myself out of it – even occasionally. Thanks for showing me that adventure lies ahead!

    • Sounds so funny to read you also enjoy your comfort zone. And I’m sure you’ll do a wonderful job of pushing yourself out of it :) Even occasionally works too, you’ll get the hang of it!

Trackbacks

