Do you know when to stop?

Editing our writing, more often than not, isn’t the easiest thing in the world. However, even harder than the actual editing is: putting a stop to editing.

If you’re interested in that I think on this matter, what I learned, pop on over to Fear of Writing to give my confession guest post, When to STOP editing, a read and then let me know what you think.

What I love most, is that Milli Thornton was inspired by my article and will soon follow up with a post on “Writers and the Fine Art of Getting Help”. Can’t wait for that to be up on the website!

6 Comments to “Do you know when to stop?”

  1. This is such a timely post for me! I recently sent a submission to Chicken Soup for the Soul, and for the first time….either in a long time…or first time EVER….I almost edited it to death! I wrote about it on my blog on the 6th, if you’d like to read it. It’s just the first paragraph!
    And, Estrella….I looked for a place to leave a comment on your post about taking a week off, but couldn’t fine one. Oh well…you’re back now. I was just going to say “Good for you!” We all need to take time off from our blogging, etc. from time to time. I did that when I visited my sister a couple of weeks ago, and I came home a new woman!!
    Have a wonderful rest of the week!

    • I noticed that post of yours Becky, and delayed commenting exactly to include a link to my article :) (will do that now) So glad you liked it!

      And no worries, I deliberately didn’t allow comments on that post, to keep myself from having a reason to come back to my blog too many times (to answer comments, etc. and lose track of time here instead of working on something I really needed to work on). Yes, we all need a break from time to time. Hope you also have an amazing rest of your week!

  2. Wonderful! I don’t often run into this, but I sometimes over-edit instructions on a recipe. I’ll remember your words next time. Thanks!

    • Just answered your comment on FoW, I know what you mean about over-editing instructions, I tend to do that with craft tutorials… But it’s good that you don’t run into this too often!

  3. Sometimes, it’s so hard to stop editing!
    As we say in Spanish, you hit directly on the nail.

