Just like people

Cats are strong, independent. And while it’s true, not all cats are alike and some of them are much more needy than others – they’re much more independent than dogs are anyway.

I have three cats. They’re mostly outside during warm summer days and sometimes I only see them around lunch time – independent or not, why not take advantage of the “drive in”. They bring home winged or furry little “presents”. They “help” clean up and redecorate. During winter, they like to take over my bed and sleep all day.

All three have different personalities. Mili and Maci are more needy, they like being played with at any given time.

IMG_0535 Onyx on the other hand… he’s more distant. He finds impossible places to have his naps. He doesn’t normally like to be held for longer than two seconds and will fight me to get away. He’s only affectionate on his own terms (fact which actually resembles a lot of men, but that’s a different story). It’s always a surprise when he feels like curling up next to me, and I could almost declare it a national holiday when he wants to be pet and sleep in my lap.

He seems as if he’d be perfectly fine with having no owners.

Yesterday, Onyx somehow managed to get his fur all sticky as he tried to un-stick the mouse off of this glue-mouse-trap thingy. How he reached it is beyond me, but he was all sticky and struggled to get it off by pulling out his fur. I’m sure it hurt (we had an appointment at the vet’s and he got his paw and chest shaved this afternoon).

Last night and today, Onyx was very much affectionate. He followed me around, slept (tried to clean himself) next to me and eventually crawled onto my lap and got some sleep. I went numb from not moving for an hour and a half, but am not complaining.

Right now as I type this, the effects of his anesthetic are wearing off – so naturally, we just had to pull him out of the toilet… That’s what we get for thinking he’d be okay if left alone for a few minutes.

It’s easy to characterize cats as being tough, ruthless with their prey and independent. It’s easy to look at appearances.

However, cats – despite the exterior, despite what we assume – (just like it is with people) sometimes need a hug, a kind word, a kiss, a pat on the back to know that everything’s going to be alright.

One Comment to “Just like people”

  1. Estrella, I’ve been described, (by my husband), as very much like Onyx – I want to be petted only when I want to be petted, am independent to a fault at times, and get myself “stuck” in sticky situations more often than I care to admit. But I am a Leo, so at least I can say I come by it honest….

    Your cats sound like so much fun, all of them! I have only one cat, and yes, she believes she owns the place. She is much like Onyx in that she only wants attention when it’s convenient for her, (usually when her food bowl is empty – Heaven forbid!) She’s aggravating at times, but I don’t know what I’d do without her. We’ve had her since we moved into our house twelve years ago. Technically she should be getting old and feeble, but I’m glad to say that, so far, she hasn’t seemed so.
    Thanks for such a fun and memory-inspiring post!

