Overwriting memories – by Estrella Azul

They were admiring the view as he leaned in to kiss her.

She was delighted with traveling to Paris. It was her favorite city in the world. The one she had been so happy in.

Now however, she was overwriting past memories while he charmed his new bride. Overwriting distant memories as the two of them strolled down cobblestone streets and dined in romantic restaurants. Overwriting cherished memories as they criss-crossed the Seine River and visited attractions, as they watched the city turn more magical with every second that passed.
She loved her groom more than life itself.

Obliviously, he kissed her forehead and glanced over the city again, after she graciously eluded his kiss; embracing him so strongly as she never had before, kissing him on the cheek.

There was one memory she could not overwrite.
There was only one kiss she desired to recall on top of the Eiffel Tower.

33 Responses to “Overwriting memories – by Estrella Azul”

  1. As I scrolled down to get to the comment box, I knew exactly what I was going to write….until….I saw Ann’s comment, and I swear….it’s the same!! So, Ditto! Loved it! Want to know more…!

  2. I could picture them so vividly, and picture so many scenes of what it could all be, many of which have already been described. Love the openness, the ability with which you draw out our own imagination and creativity, to make the story our own. You held up a diamond for us, and we are seeing each facet differently. Love it :-)

    • Kenneth, you held up a mirror I so need to glance into every once in a while. Thank you for that and for your lovely comment. I’m thrilled that you liked the flash so much! :)

  3. Now you have me wondering who that one kiss was from? I think you could develop this into a much longer piece.

    Beautifully written!

  4. I too interpret as her trying to erase the memories, but having difficulty “getting rid of” that last one. Great job with this Estrella!

    • She strikes me as not even wanting to get rid of that last one, like that’s one memory she’d like to keep forever with her, from a person she was so happy with but where more than that former trip couldn’t work out…
      Thanks, Deanna, it’s wonderful to see you (all) liked this flash so much!

Trackbacks

