Tough love, a letter

On Friday and Saturday, I was watching the conversations from the grand opening of Andrea Lewicki’s wonderful curiosity project on and off. I tuned in and figured out how to sign in via Twitter by the final conversation where Andrea was talking with Judy Clement Wall. The whole conversation left me inspired.

One snippet that stayed with me the most clearly was about the possibility of acknowledging our inner critic, accepting it as a part of ourselves, and possibly writing it a love letter. A letter that would say something along the lines of, “I love you. Thank you. But shut up now.”

It got me thinking. It kept me up late that night. And yesterday I decided to write my inner critic a love letter. A more or less tough love letter. Hope you won’t mind me sharing it with you (like I did last Monday) as an ending to my Month of Love Letters.

 

Dear I.C. (Inner Critic),

I’m writing to let you know how much I love and appreciate you.
As weird as it may sound, it’s actually comforting to know you’ll second guess every single decision I make, no matter how big or small. I think that’s because I always strive to do my best with everything and paired up with I.P. (Inner Perfectionist) you’re doing such a great job of keeping me in check.

However, I’m also writing to let you know that I won’t always listen to you from now on.
Sometimes a little quiet time is nice. And much needed.

Starting today, I’ll let myself off the hook and accept that I am only human. I’ll accept that I truly am doing my absolute best, that I am doing exactly what I need to be doing.
I’ll trust my instincts. I’ll focus on myself even when the world is screaming for my attention. And I’ll try to remind myself that I don’t need to change anything about myself.

Even when you disagree – I’ll trust that I’m perfect just the way I am.   

Love,
~ Estrella

 

How about you? What would you say to your inner critic? Feel free to share your letter in the comments below, I’d love to see your responses :)

PS: Would you like it if I occasionally shared more love letters?

19 Responses to “Tough love, a letter”

  1. Beautiful Inner Critic Love Letter! And yes, I did write mine and told it to take a vacation! However, it’s probably time to write another…

Trackbacks

