Tips and tricks for healthy hair

red hair 1. Always look at ingredients and choose a delicate shampoo without SLS (it excessively dries hair). It’s best to avoid harsh shampoos, as a gentle shampoo cleans just as effectively without unnecessarily being hard on the scalp. Even shampoos for color-treated hair are often harsh, so even for dyed hair it’s preferable to use a gentle shampoo.
2. Do not believe manufacturer’s claims that their shampoo is suitable for anyone and performs miracles that no other shampoo does. Each person is different and what works for one person may be wrong for someone else. Always test shampoos before switching and then select according to your hair’s needs.
3. Do you really need to shampoo twice? Before we learned this rule, our hair was clean even after shampooing once. It may or may not be a marketing tactic designed to increase sales. Obviously, in some cases, double shampooing is necessary, but it is not as necessary as to become a rule. (I noticed that no matter how many times I shampoo my hair, I have to wash it with the exact same frequency, so why waste that extra shampoo?)
4. Curly hair doesn’t get greasy quickly, because the sebum doesn’t get through the hair as fast as it does on straight hair. The best products for this type of hair are creamy ones. It is best to use a conditioner after washing curly hair.
5. Oily, normal or flaccid hair needs a liquid, light, transparent shampoo. Not all people with these types of hair also need conditioner, so if after washing your hair is easy to comb, you can save money by not using conditioner.
6. Chemically treated hair is more difficult to care for, it’s best to use a natural shampoo, gentle, for normal hair. You should also use concentrated hair conditioners.
7. For dry hair, creamy conditioners and very nutritious shampoo is recommended.
8. Are shampoos ‘2 in 1’ (with built-conditioner) better? This product is recommended for normal, healthy hair. But if you have oily hair, conditioner is not needed, and if you have dry hair, the moisturizing agents in ‘2 products in 1’ type of shampoos are not sufficient.
9. To shampoo use a small amount of shampoo (add more if necessary according to your hair’s length). Conduct a rigorous massage to the scalp, and if you can bear it, before shampooing and the rinse water should be cold as to support extra shine. If possible, let air dry. Always comb wet hair with a wide toothed comb and not a brush because your hair is most fragile while wet.
10. A beautiful, healthy hair does not require expensive treatments, it’s relatively easy to maintain at home. Like any other aspect of our body, beautiful hair is foremost maintained by proper diet, sufficient hydration, avoiding stress and smoke filled places and the use of natural hair care products.
 

Some additional tips:

  • the juice of one lemon mixed with a cup of water give more shine to your hair;
  • one tablespoon of baking soda mixed well in a cup of water will remove remaining hair spray or gel from the hair;
  • a teaspoon of baking soda added to the amount of shampoo used once to wash helps eliminate excess sebum from the scalp;
  • rinsing your hair with a few tablespoons of apple cider vinegar diluted in 2 cups of water gives it shine;
  • or just use No-Poo shampoo
  • an infusion of chamomile helps to highlight blonde hair color;
  • an infusion of sage, lavender and cinnamon (a few sticks, broken pieces) helps darken hair color;
  • hibiscus (either infusion or powder) helps in attaining red reflexes.
13 Comments to “Tips and tricks for healthy hair”

  1. These are great tips. I have been using shampoo sopa homemade by my younger sister for the last few weeks, and I remember one tip from a model – wash your hair as seldom as possible. She claimed that she went for at least a week without washing her hair before a photoshoot, because the “grease” is actually good for your hair, and when washing it for the first time after such a “greasy” period, she said her hair shone brighter. (I’ve tried it and think it is correct, but it could also be that I simply wasn’t used to having clean hair and therefore thought it looked better. ^^ )

    • Thanks, Diandra. You’re so funny :)
      That’s so great that you’re using homemade shampoo. And I know, I also try to wash my hair as seldom as possible, although I’m not having much luck with that during winter. Unfortunately, cause I hate’em, I need to wear a hat and so my hair gets greasy too quickly… During the summer though, I’m at 5-6 days in between hair washings.

  2. I’ll have to try some of your tips! Unless my hair is very dirty I never do the rinse and repeat steps. It definitely seems to be a ploy by the manufacturer to get people to use more shampoo.

  3. Great tips…thanks! my hair is now color treated and I’ve not tried it since I started coloring, but I found that doing a mayonnaise “mask” on my hair every 3-4 months did wonders for my hair.

    • I also heard about the mayo mask, but never tried it as my hair gets greasy quickly and so it doesn’t need any extra oil on it. Though I have tried a simple egg yolk mask a few years back which I liked.

  4. Ran out of patience for my long lockes years ago and donated them to make a wig for a girl in chemo. Now it’s all short hair and sparse beards. Long hair can take so much time, but if you love it as you do, it’s worth it. I do miss it flying in the breeze.

    • That is such a wonderful thing, my mom also donated her hair when she decided to go with short hair. I love mine being long too much right now, but I know I’ll do the same when I get tired of it. And I know what you mean, I really like it flying in the breeze even though it’s so much work ;)

  5. These are some great tips, thank you so much.

  6. Thanks for these tips, very useful!

  7. Howdy I am so happy I found your web site, these are wonderful tips!

