Mysteries of Life

One of the kids I’m tutoring got this as his homework the other day, to list ten mysteries of Life. Let me tell you, we had to do some thinking – especially as he was sort of missing the point of what a mystery is.

It got me thinking for a few days after that though, and here’s the result, a list of mysteries which puzzle me sometimes.

  1. Why there is no real answer to the question “Why?” – I’m sure you’ve also noticed that once asked, it can go on forever.
  2. How Love, Friendship, Hatred, and etc., in one word Life, really “works” – while the rules keep changing, minute by minute.
  3. What time is – I’d dare you to fully explain it to me in less than 100 words and omitting the use of the term “time”.
  4. How something can be so “right” and so “wrong” at the same time.
  5. If there ever will be such a thing as something truly “unconditional” – in the back of our mind, at least unconsciously, I think there’s always a slight glimmer of condition behind our actions and feelings.

Let me know in the comments below: what puzzles you? What mysteries do you sometimes end up thinking about?

20 Comments to “Mysteries of Life”

  1. My biggest mystery in life: Where do all the lonely socks come from?

    • Well yes, that’s another one. But in my world the answer is: Mili, our oldest cat brings them home from neighbors… To be fair though, she sometimes goes back for the pair as well :-P

      I’m only surprised the people she’s stealing from still keep their socks in her reach… Surely they noticed… Where do their sock disappear to? That’s their mystery I guess ;-)

  2. I love number 4 – I agree 100%!!! It’s one of my greatest mysteries at the moment… another one is how perceptions of “normality” (or any other concept such as poverty, hunger, obesity, etc.) can be essentially “true” for one person and completely “false” for another. The way in which we construct ideas and concepts, and create a “universal” meaning, is very mysterious. For example, when is poverty related to money? Some of the happiest (and “richest”) people on earth don’t have much money. So how did those two concepts come to be so intrinsically linked? (Yes, I know there is a rational answer to this – but perhaps the mystery is why no one is challenging the connection…) :D

    • I like reading how you think, Trisha, thanks for doing so in the comment section here :)
      “Normality, true/false, universal, rich/poor” they’re all relative terms as much as we’d like to rationalize and narrow them down to just one thing or apply them generally for everyone.

  3. My mystery: I would love to know what my dog is thinking about. I’m usually pretty good at figuring out what he wants, but sometimes it is truly a mystery. :)

  4. My entire life is a mystery. I am very educated and am a voracious reader always jumping at the chance to learn anything, yet I feel as I age I know less and less. I think the questions get bigger as we get older, and they certainly become more philosophical. Someone once asked me what question I would most like answered. Actually, the idea of this has crossed my mind thousands of times. It is simple. Are we alone in the universe? If I am alive when we eventually learn that there are many worlds, perhaps not like ours but worlds nonetheless – teeming with life, in the universe, then I will consider myself incredibly lucky.

    My sense of it is that there are no mysteries, but rather questions that someday science will answer. Think of the last 100 years and how far we have come. It is mind boggling, is it not? Patsye

    • It most definitely is mind boggling, Patsye, we’ve come so far. I like your question, and I like how that would be the one question you’d like to know the answer to – feels like you if that makes any sense.
      Are we alone in the universe? I’d like to know the answer to that myself.

  5. I’ve got to comment on Diandra’s post first…I KNOW THE ANSWER!

    There is a parallel universe on the other side of EVERY dryer! When I pull only one sock out wondering where the other one is…on the other side of my dryer (in the parallel universe) someone is pulling MY sock out wondering where the heck it came from!

    Mystery solved!

  6. Okay…now here’s my mystery! Have you ever heard the phrase “whole nother”? Here it is in a sentence. “The house burned down, but the community pulled together and built a whole nother one.”

    What’s a “nother”? Is there a half-nother? How do the two compare?!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  7. Estrella, Warmest Wishes and Have a blissful Thanksgiving. !!!

  8. Beautiful and interesting post Estrella….I love number 4!

    Have a beautiful weekend ahead
    Marinela x

  9. Number 4 is the easiest one to answer. It’s because anything can have multiple properties. A gun can be used to defend, or to rob, or to murder, or as a paperweight. An investment can put your kids through college and screw over someone’s firm. Because things operate in multiple facets, they can have multiple moral qualities.

    • You are, of course, so right, John. I was referring to something feeling “right” and “wrong” at the same time for myself, but your answer applies anyway as things do operate on multiple facets and we inadvertently react on other people’s reactions and beliefs on that something.

  10. One of the mysteries of life is how, sometimes, when I’m asked a really good question on a blog I come up with a totally blank mind. I’ll have to think about this one. I’m really glad I wasn’t the kid who had to do this as homework, lol!

    I like your list of five mysteries. I don’t have answers to any of them (the one about time is particularly bamboozling), but you were a deep thinker to come up with all those.

    I guess one of mine would be: Is it true that we plan our next life during the “afterlife”? And, if so, can I see somebody at the customer service desk? I have a few bones to pick with my other self. . . . ;~)

